Newton appointed to Arkansas PBS Commission

April 16, 2024

Newton appointed to Arkansas PBS Commission

CONWAY, Ark. (Arkansas PBS) — Gov. Sarah Huckabee Sanders has announced the appointment of Gary Newton of Little Rock, president and CEO of Arkansas Learns, to the Arkansas PBS Commission.

Newton fills a previously vacant position on the commission for a six-year term expiring March 30, 2030.

“I am honored to have been appointed to the Arkansas Educational Television Commission by Gov. Sanders – our education governor – and look forward to serving my fellow Arkansans as our Legislature intended,” Newton said.

Prior to his work in education advocacy, Newton served as executive vice president of the Little Rock Regional Chamber during tenures from 1983-1988 and 2005-2012. His accomplishments include staffing the creation and first three classes of Leadership Greater Little Rock, and, as Little Rock Film Commissioner, collaborating with Arkansas Film Commissioner Christopher Crane to restore television and film production economic development incentives for Arkansas.

Newton is a graduate of the University of Arkansas and New York’s American Musical & Dramatic Academy. He is a Certified Chamber Executive (CCE) and a graduate of the Institute for Organization Management and University of Oklahoma Economic Development Institute. As an actor and screenwriter, he produced/wrote the award-winning documentary feature “Jo’s Town,” produced the ensemble comedy feature “Antiquities,” and may be seen in the upcoming feature “I’ll Be There.”

Of the eight members of the Arkansas Educational Television Commission, one is required from each of the state's four congressional districts, with one involved in the Arkansas public school system and one from higher education. Newton fills an at-large commission seat last occupied by G.R. (Skip) Holland. The role of a commissioner is that of citizen representative responsible for the oversight of the statewide public media network.

In addition to Newton, the Arkansas Educational Television Commission is currently comprised of West Doss of Fayetteville, chair; Woody Freeman of Jonesboro, vice chair; Anne Cowie of Subiaco, secretary/treasurer; Cynthia Nance of Fayetteville; Annette Herrington of Little Rock; John Brown of Siloam Springs; and Ann Clemmer of Benton.

About Arkansas PBS
Arkansas PBS, Arkansas’s only statewide public media network, empowers learners of all ages by educating, informing, entertaining and inspiring communities. Arkansas PBS serves as a daily and essential resource for Arkansans by creating, sharing, celebrating and driving conversation around Arkansas stories and classic, trusted PBS programs through multiple digital platforms, including livestreaming at, on-demand services and YouTube TV, and the distinct channels Arkansas PBS, Arkansas PBS Create, Arkansas PBS KIDS, Arkansas PBS WORLD and Arkansas PBS AIRS on SAP. Members with Arkansas PBS Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. Arkansas PBS depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at Arkansas PBS is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), KETZ (El Dorado), KETS (Russellville), KETS (Forrest City), KETS (Gaither) and KETS (Yancy).