Exclusive Arkansas PBS debate series begins Monday


‘Arkansas Week’ to feature additional candidates prior to debate week Oct. 17-21

CONWAY, Ark. (Arkansas PBS) — “Election 2022: Arkansas PBS Debates,” featuring 24 candidates in nine races, will livestream at youtube.com/arkansaspbs and air live on Arkansas PBS daily Oct. 17-21. Debates will also be rebroadcast during primetime beginning Oct. 17.

In advance of debate week, “Arkansas Week,” Arkansas PBS’s flagship public affairs program, will feature candidates for State Treasurer, State Auditor and Commissioner of State Lands Friday, Oct. 14, at 7:30 p.m. Joining the discussion will be: Rep. Mark Lowery (R) and Pam Whitaker (D) from the State Treasurer’s race; Diamond Johnson (D) and Treasurer Dennis Milligan (R) from the State Auditor’s race; and Darlene “Goldi” Gaines (D) and incumbent Tommy Land (R) from the Commissioner of State Lands’ race. Christina Munoz hosts. This edition of “Arkansas Week” will repeat Sunday, Oct. 16, at 10 a.m. and Monday, Oct. 17, at 5 p.m.

The Arkansas PBS debate series will be held at the Donald W. Reynolds Performance Hall, 223 Beatrice Powell St., on the University of Central Arkansas campus in Conway. Registration for the debates is available through the Arkansas PBS Facebook page.

The following candidates will participate in Arkansas PBS’s debates:

  • Arkansas Governor – Ricky Dale Harrington (L), Sarah Huckabee Sanders (R) and Chris Jones (D). The debate will livestream and air Friday, Oct. 21, at 10 a.m.
  • Lieutenant Governor – Frank Gilbert (L), Kelly Krout (D) and Leslie Rutledge (R). The debate will livestream and air Tuesday, Oct. 18, at 10 a.m.
  • Attorney General – Jesse Gibson (D) and Tim Griffin (R). The debate will livestream and air Wednesday, Oct. 19, at 10 a.m.
  • Secretary of State – Anna Beth Gorman (D) and incumbent John Thurston (R). The debate will livestream and air Tuesday, Oct. 18, at 2 p.m.
  • U.S. Senate – Incumbent John Boozman (R), Kenneth Cates (L) and Natalie James (D). The debate will livestream and air Friday, Oct. 21, at 1:00 p.m.
  • U.S. Congressional District 1 – Incumbent Rick Crawford (R) and Monte Hodges (D). The debate will livestream and air Thursday, Oct. 20, at 10 a.m.
  • U.S. Congressional District 2 – Quintessa Hathaway (D), incumbent French Hill (R) and Michael White (L). The debate will livestream and air Thursday, Oct. 20, at 2 p.m.
  • U.S. Congressional District 3 – Michael Kalagias (L), Lauren Mallett-Hays (D) and incumbent Steve Womack (R). The debate will livestream and air Monday, Oct. 17, at 1 p.m.
  • U.S. Congressional District 4 – Gregory Maxwell (L), incumbent Bruce Westerman (R) and John White (D). The debate will livestream and air Monday, Oct. 17, at 10 a.m.

In addition to live broadcasts, the debates will repeat during primetime:

  • Monday, Oct. 17 – U.S. Congressional District 4 airing at 7 p.m. and U.S. Congressional District 3 airing at 8 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Oct. 18 – Lieutenant Governor airing at 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Oct. 19 – Attorney General airing at 7 p.m. and Secretary of State airing at 8 p.m.
  • Thursday, Oct. 20 – U.S. Congressional District 1 airing at 7 p.m. and U.S. Congressional District 2 airing at 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 21 – Governor airing at 7 p.m. and U.S. Senate at 8 p.m.

All debates will repeat Sunday, Nov. 6, from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

A weekly blog series at myarpbs.org/blog will explain the role of each office and provide more information on candidates. Toolkits and resources for parents and teachers to help guide and engage children through the civics process during this election year, as well as other additional information, is available at myarpbs.org/elections.

Arkansas PBS makes all debates available free of charge to all commercial and public television and radio stations for simulcast or rebroadcast. Interested networks should contact Tiffany Head at thead@myarkansaspbs.org to make arrangements for receiving the debates.

About Arkansas PBS

Arkansas PBS, Arkansas’s only statewide public media network, empowers learners of all ages by educating, informing, entertaining and inspiring communities. Arkansas PBS serves as a daily and essential resource for Arkansans by creating, sharing, celebrating and driving conversation around Arkansas stories and classic, trusted PBS programs through multiple digital platforms, including livestreaming at myarpbs.org/watch, on-demand services and YouTube TV, and the distinct channels Arkansas PBS, Arkansas PBS Create, Arkansas PBS KIDS, Arkansas PBS WORLD and Arkansas PBS AIRS on SAP. Members with Arkansas PBS Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. Arkansas PBS depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at myarkansaspbs.org. Arkansas PBS is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), KETZ (El Dorado), KETS (Lee Mountain) and KETS (Forrest City).