Arkansas PBS to livestream Arkansas Governor’s Arts Awards March 8

March 5, 2024

Annual program recognizes outstanding contributions to the arts community

CONWAY, Ark. (Arkansas PBS) — Arkansas PBS will livestream the annual Arkansas Governor’s Arts Awards Friday, March 8, at noon as part of its Arkansas Live initiative at

Established in 1991, the annual Governor's Arts Awards program recognizes Arkansas artists, arts patrons, arts educators, arts organizations and businesses for their outstanding contributions to the arts community. Recipients are nominated by the public, then selected by an independent panel of arts professionals from around the state.

This year’s awardees are:

  • Garbo Hearne of Little Rock – Arts Community Development Award.
  • Virmarie DePoyster of North Little Rock – Arts in Education Award.
  • General Mills of Rogers – Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award.
  • Pam Setser of Mountain View – Folklife Award.
  • Stephen Driver of Ozark – Individual Artist Award.
  • Gay Bechtelheimer of El Dorado – Judges Recognition Award.
  • Tony Waller of Bentonville – Patron Award.
  • Charley Sandage of Mountain View – Lifetime Achievement Award.

Each 2024 recipient will receive an original work of art created by Arkansas artist Larry Pennington of Hot Springs.

The Arkansas Governor’s Arts Awards are presented by the Arkansas Arts Council, an agency of Arkansas Heritage, division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism.

Arkansas Live is an initiative from Arkansas PBS that brings compelling special events directly to Arkansans via vivid, multi-camera livestreaming. Viewers gain front row access to some of the most in-demand events across the state, including livestreams from Crystal Bridges, Arkansas Department of Heritage, Winthrop Rockefeller Institute, and more.

About Arkansas Arts Council
The Arkansas Arts Council, an agency of Arkansas Heritage, advances the arts in Arkansas by providing services and supporting arts endeavors that encourage and assist literary, performing and visual artists in achieving standards of professional excellence. In addition, the Arkansas Arts Council provides technical and financial assistance to Arkansas arts organizations and other providers of cultural and educational programs. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism.

About Arkansas PBS
Arkansas PBS, Arkansas’s only statewide public media network, empowers learners of all ages by educating, informing, entertaining and inspiring communities. Arkansas PBS serves as a daily and essential resource for Arkansans by creating, sharing, celebrating and driving conversation around Arkansas stories and classic, trusted PBS programs through multiple digital platforms, including livestreaming at, on-demand services and YouTube TV, and the distinct channels Arkansas PBS, Arkansas PBS Create, Arkansas PBS KIDS, Arkansas PBS WORLD and Arkansas PBS AIRS on SAP. Members with Arkansas PBS Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. Arkansas PBS depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at Arkansas PBS is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), KETZ (El Dorado), KETS (Russellville), KETS (Forrest City), KETS (Gaither) and KETS (Yancy).