Arkansas PBS > Programs > Men & Women of Distinction > Men & Women of Distinction: Mike Beebe

Men & Women of Distinction: Mike Beebe

2020 Mid-America Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Emmy winner for Director – Non-Live (Post-Produced).

This film examines the life of the Honorable Mike Beebe, a product of Arkansas, born in a tar paper shack in Amagon. Beebe rose from his humble beginnings to practice law in Searcy and run for Arkansas Senate – where he was first elected in 1981 and served for 20 years – followed by successful runs for attorney general (2003-2007) and, finally, governor (2007-2015). Directed and produced by Kathryn Tucker.

Kathryn Francis Tucker is a Little Rock native and sixth-generation Arkansan. An alumna of Little Rock Central High School and the University of Pennsylvania, Tucker is also a Directors Guild of America member with experience in still photography, photo editing for film and film production. Tucker founded the Arkansas Cinema Society in 2017 and currently serves as the nonprofit's executive director.