Arkansas PBS > Programs > On The Front Row > Amasa Hines

Amasa Hines

Amasa Hines, a seven-piece band formed in 2010, released their debut album, "All the World There Is," in January 2014. Members include: Joshua Asante, vocals and guitar; Judson Spillyards, guitar; Joshua Spillyards, drums; Ryan Hitt, bass; Norman Williamson, saxophone; Stephen Colby, saxophone; and Matt Rice, keyboards. Hailing from Little Rock, the band's style encompasses soul, afro-beat, psychedelic, blues, dub and indie rock. Self-described influences include John Coltrane, My Morning Jacket and The Electric Company, as well as "love, loss, spirituality, [and] answering the phone on off days." Named one of the "12 Arkansas Bands You Should Be Listening to Now" by Paste Magazine and one of the "10 Southern Rock Bands to Listen to Now" by Southern Living Magazine, Amasa Hines boasts pounding beats, soaring vocals, sultry sax work and magnificently understated guitar interplay. The long-time Little Rock music scene favorites? latest release, "All the World There Is," has been described as, "gorgeous, a tour de force of contemplative, Ethio-jazz-flecked, soul-shouting, space rock " [a] fine record bound to get attention beyond Arkansas" (Arkansas Times).