Arkansas PBS KIDS Writer's Contest


Let the story writing begin!

PBS KIDS Writers Contest is an initiative designed to promote the advancement of children’s literacy skills through hands-on, active learning. Kids in kindergarten through third grade are invited to write and illustrate a story for a chance to win cool prizes!

The next contest will begin Spring 2024 - check back for updates in February.

Support for the Arkansas PBS KIDS Writers Contest is provided by the
June Hoes Williams Endowment

How to Enter

The next contest will begin Spring 2024 - check back for updates in February.

Contest Rules

  • Each entry must include the official Arkansas PBS KIDS Writers Contest Entry Form, with required signatures.
  • Entrants must be children in Kindergarten, first, second or third grade.
  • Only one entry per person.
  • Must be a legal resident of the 50 U.S. states.
  • Single author submissions only (no co-authoring).
  • Fact or fiction, prose or poetry
  • K-1st grade entries must have a minimum of 50 words, maximum of 200 words.
  • 2nd - 3rd grade entries must have a minimum of 100 words, maximum of 350 words.
  • Title page words do not count toward word count.
  • Children can dictate their story to be printed.
  • Invented spelling is accepted.
  • Non-english text must be translated.
  • Stories must have at least five original, clear and colorful illustrations.
  • Original art can include drawings, collages, and 3-D art or photographs taken by the author.
  • Stories must be created on one side of the paper and numbered on the back of each page.


  • Each Arkansas entrant will receive a participation certificate.
  • Twelve winners (three from each grade) will receive an Arkansas PBS prize pack.
  • First place winners will also receive one (1) PBS KIDS Playtime Pad which comes preloaded with educational games, music, and videos!

Get inspired by previous contest winners


Grade1st Place2nd Place3rd Place
KindergartenSolomon Webber of Little Rock: "Solomon's Adventure"Sabrynah Shorty of North Little Rock: "When It's Raining"Ean Everastico of Danville: "The Turtles"
1st GradeEmmanuel Zhuang of Conway: "The Creepy Castle and the Knights"Holland Corken of Little Rock: "Chewie McChewersin"Penelope Posadas of Rogers: "There's No Place Like Home"
2nd GradeKirksey Miner of West Fork: "The Riddles to a Treasure"Mary Elizabeth Clark of Fayetteville: "Mary's Monkey Trouble"Jase Lajeunesse of Conway: "Spy Cats"
3rd GradeElla Dunn of Harrison: "A Day on the Farm: The Missing Egg"Henley Ritchie of Yellville: "S'More Camping"Jai Durvasula of El Dorado: "Help Your Friends But"


Grade1st Place2nd Place3rd Place
KindergartenFaith Ford of Luxora: "Love Makes Everything Better"Harper Porter of Bentonville: "The Baby Who Ate Trees"Penelope Posadas of Rogers: "Once Upon a Dino Birthday Surprise"
1st GradeAbigail Wharton of Conway: "The Playful Pony and the Swimming Swordfish"Sadie Montgomery of Rison: "The Lonely Giant" and Emerson Gitz of Batesville: "Peppa and Emmy’s Big Adventure"Beau Corley of Malvern: "The Blue Tornado and the Aliens"
2nd GradeElijah Smith of Benton: "The Droid 8E8 and the Giant Space Worm"Henley Ritchie of Mountain Home: "The Girl Who Loves Books"Bennett Yochum of Rogers: "The Camping Buds"
3rd GradeIsabella Posadas of Rogers: "Lying Lizzy"Charlotte Granderson of Fayetteville: "Sammy Salamander"Gunner Duck of Omaha: "Ninja Puppy in China" and David Archer McKnight of Sherwood: "The Badger and the Telekinetic Kangaroo"