Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > The Smittle Band to perform free concert at AETN

The Smittle Band to perform free concert at AETN

Posted 04 Oct 2011

The Smittle Band will perform a free concert at the Arkansas Educational Television Network studios Monday, Oct. 17, at 7 p.m. for an upcoming episode of "AETN Presents: On the Front Row".

The public is invited to this free performance, which will be taped for broadcast at a later date. Anyone interested in being part of the audience is asked to R.S.V.P. at and arrive at the studio by 6:30 p.m. on Oct. 17. AETN is located at 350 South Donaghey in Conway.

The Smittle Band formed two years ago and features vocalist Stephanie Smittle from Cave Springs, Ark. The Smittle Band has been described as "jazzy Americana" featuring smooth vocals and a pop sensibility and is reminiscent of Smittle’s childhood Baptist church stylings. The group produced its first CD, "Bright Street," in Oct. 2010 and features the songwriting of Smittle and Wythe Walker. The Smittle Band features Stephanie Smittle on vocals; Wythe Walker on acoustic and electric guitars; Jim McGehee on keyboard; Ray Wittenberg on drums; and John Davies, who spent a decade with The Cate Brothers and several years on the road with Michael Burkes, on bass.

"AETN Presents" features a variety of arts and cultural subjects. Previously included in the series have been the Arkansas Acoustic Festival; performances by the Cate Brothers, Trout Fishing in America, Dale Hawkins, Wayland Holyfield and Friends, Shannon Boshears Band and Epiphany; and "On the Same Page" with authors Buzz Bissinger, Billy Collins, John T. Edge and Kenneth L. Smith.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).