Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > 'Sunshine by the Stars' to air on AETN Feb. 13

'Sunshine by the Stars' to air on AETN Feb. 13

Posted 10 Feb 2014

"Sunshine by the Stars: Celebrating Louisiana Music," featuring musicians performing the Louisiana State Song "You are my Sunshine," will air on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Thursday, Feb. 13, at 8 p.m.

Recorded by 350 artists in 30 languages, "You Are My Sunshine" has been a hit in four different decades and has been featured in movies like "O Brother Where Art Thou." It holds a special place in the hearts of Louisiana's citizens because it was made famous by Jimmie Davis, who served two terms as Louisiana's governor. In addition, it was named the state song of Louisiana in 1977.

Hosted by Grammy and Emmy-winner Harry Connick Jr., "Sunshine by the Stars: Celebrating Louisiana Music" features an all-star lineup of Louisiana musicians performing their own unique versions of this timeless classic.

In addition to Connick and his band second-lining through the French Quarter in New Orleans, performers include: Rock and Roll Hall of Famers Jerry Lee Lewis, Buddy Guy and Allen Toussaint; country music superstar Tim McGraw; Grammy winners "The Queen of New Orleans Soul" Irma Thomas, the Rebirth Brass Band and Michael Doucet; country star Mickey Gilley; Zachary Richard, singing in French; Zydeco stars Rockin' Dopsie, Jr. and the Zydeco Twisters and Buckwheat Zydeco; Marcia Ball; rising jazz and R&B stars Trombone Shorty and Orleans Avenue; rock stars Better Than Ezra; blues singer Luther Kent; and the gospel group, the Zion Harmonizers. Grammy winners Wynton and Brandon Marsalis join with their dad, Ellis, and brother, Jason, for a special jazz version of "Sunshine."

Since the program was recorded during the 200th anniversary of Louisiana's admission as the nation's 18th state, historical information about the Bayou State is also featured between performances.

"Sunshine by the Stars: Celebrating Louisiana Music" was produced by Louisiana Public Broadcasting in association with Harry Connick Jr. and the Louisiana Lt. Governor's Office as part of the Louisiana Year of Music. The program was underwritten by BP.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).