Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > Sammie Benjamin of Glenwood selected as AETN Commission chair

Sammie Benjamin of Glenwood selected as AETN Commission chair

Posted 28 Aug 2009

As chairman of the Commission, I will devote my time and support to upholding the mission of AETN and look forward to working with the agencys leadership, Benjamin said. AETN is a center of discovery for people of all ages and stands alone in providing programming which celebrates the unique contributions of Arkansans, their culture, and their heritage. We encourage Arkansans to connect, grow, and lead healthy, productive, and fulfilling lives.

Benjamin, District 4 public school representative, was appointed to the commission on Jan. 20, 1999, and will also serve as the AETN Commission representative on the AETN Foundation Board of Directors. She holds a BSE in Elementary Education and Library Science from Ouachita Baptist University and an ME in Educational Leadership from Harding University. She has taught first grade; served as elementary media specialist at Texarkana and high school media specialist at Centerpoint; coaches Quiz Bowl and serves as a board member of the Arkansas Governors Quiz Bowl Association; and was recently selected Teacher of the Year for the Centerpoint School District.

AETN has always been an integral part of my role as a public school media specialist, Benjamin said. I accepted an appointment to the Commission 10 years ago out of a desire to serve and in the hope that my background in education would enable me to make a contribution to the agency and its purpose.

AETN offers tremendous learning opportunities to the citizens of Arkansas through the ongoing enhancement of the educational environment. We motivate children to learn, empower students and teachers to succeed, and provide a lifelong path to learning.

Other commission members are: Billie Sue Hoggard, Jonesboro; William Downs Jr., Arkadelphia; Don Hale, El Dorado; Mary Beth Green, Van Buren; Jane Krutz, Little Rock; Sandy Landers, Little Rock; and Ronnie Williams, Menifee.

It is gratifying to have such impressive people committed to the vision of public media for Arkansas leading the AETN Commission, AETN Executive Director Allen Weatherly said. We look forward to working with them to meet our common goals.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network ( provides lifelong learning opportunities, improves and enhances Arkansans lives and celebrates the unique culture of Arkansas through its programming and services. AETNs digital transmitters and numerous cable system connections give it statewide reach.