Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > PBS President Paula Kerger to host community conversation, reception at AETN Feb. 11

PBS President Paula Kerger to host community conversation, reception at AETN Feb. 11

Posted 05 Feb 2015

Paula A. Kerger, president and CEO of PBS, the nation's largest non-commercial media organization with more than 350 member stations, will visit the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Wednesday, Feb. 11, for a community conversation and reception.

Beginning at 5 p.m. in AETN studio C, Kerger will share her thoughts on public media and make remarks about the Women and Girls Lead initiative – an innovative public media campaign designed to celebrate, educate, and activate women, girls, and their allies across the globe to address the challenges of the 21st century – and engage the community in a question and answer discussion. Dr. S. Lynne Rich, assistant professor of sociology at the University of Central Arkansas, will moderate. A reception will immediately follow.

The public is invited to these free events. Additional information is available at or by calling 800-662-2386. Additional information about the Women and Girls Lead initiative is available at

Kerger joined PBS as its sixth president and chief executive in March 2006. Since her arrival, she has made particularly strong commitments to the arts, news and public affairs, high-quality content for education, diversity, and the use of new technology to bring public media into the lives of all Americans.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).