Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > Holland chosen for second term as AETN Commission representative

Holland chosen for second term as AETN Commission representative

Posted 22 May 2014

"I am honored and pleased that Governor Beebe has given me the privilege to continue service on this prestigious commission," Holland said. "It is truly a most rewarding experience to be associated with the talented and dedicated management and staff of the AETN family."

A person may serve as commissioner for an unlimited number of terms, each of which is eight years. The current Arkansas governor appoints or reappoints commissioners as representatives’ terms expire or a space is vacated.

Holland, a financial advisor for Edward Jones Investments of Hot Springs, was first appointed to the commission in May 2012 by Gov. Mike Beebe. Holland was reappointed by the governor this year; his current term will expire March 23, 2022.

"Skip Holland has been a tremendous addition to the commission throughout his past two years of service," AETN Executive Director Allen Weatherly said. "I am confident that his leadership will continue to benefit the network and help further its mission to educate, enrich and inspire."

George "Skip" Holland has been chosen to serve as the District 4 representative for the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Commission for a second consecutive term.

Holland currently resides and works in his hometown of Hot Springs. Prior to joining Edward Jones in 1999, he served as a liaison to the White House under the Clinton administration for five years and worked for Southwestern Bell/AT&T for more than 30 years. A graduate of Hot Springs High School, Holland attended the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and also received specialized training from the Center for Public Policy Education at the Brookings Institute.

Holland has served on numerous Arkansas civic and professional boards, including those of the United Fund, the Salvation Army and the Jeff Farris Leadership Academy. He is also a past president of both the West Little Rock Rotary Club and the Oaklawn Rotary Club of Hot Springs, a chair of the United Methodist Church Endowment and a 32nd Degree Mason of the Scottish Rite.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).