Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > Herrington elected AETN Commission chair

Herrington elected AETN Commission chair

Posted 25 Jul 2017

Annette Herrington of Little Rock has been elected chairman of the Arkansas Educational Television Network Commission for fiscal year 2018. Herrington, a certified public accountant, has been a member of the commission since March 2012.

'AETN meets the needs of so many Arkansans, and this essential service goes far beyond the broadcast of high-quality educational and entertainment programs,' Herrington said. 'Because of AETN, more than 33,000 Arkansas educators have access to hundreds of hours of free professional development, preschool children are prepared for success in school and life by PBS KIDS, and citizens can connect with local programming unique to Arkansas personalities, industries, natural resources, landmarks, history and arts.

'In addition to my belief in the work that AETN does throughout the state, I am encouraged by the growth and success the network is experiencing under the leadership of new executive director Courtney Pledger. Her extensive background in the film industry coupled with Gov. Hutchinson's support of AETN's mission promises a bright future for public media in Arkansas. The AETN Commission is honored to serve this worthwhile organization.'

Herrington was appointed to the commission in March 2012 as the District 2 representative. She succeeds Dr. Kathryn Jones of Bentonville who just completed a two-year term as chair.

'Annette, a longtime AETN supporter, is a natural choice for commission chair,' AETN Executive Director Courtney Pledger said. 'She is a wonderful spokesperson for public media in Arkansas and volunteers regularly for AETN projects and community outreach.

'We are proud to have her and our other dedicated commission members working to help further AETN's mission in the state.'

Other officers include: George 'Skip' Holland of Fayetteville, vice chair and AETN Foundation Board representative, and Philip Hathcock of Maumelle, secretary/treasurer. Holland, District 3/At-Large representative, was appointed to the commission in May 2012 and reappointed in March 2014. Hathcock, District 2/At-Large representative, was appointed to the commission in April 2014.

Other commission members are: Sammie Benjamin of Glenwood, District 4/Public School representative, originally appointed in January 1999 and reappointed in March 2003 and March 2011; John Brown of Siloam Springs, District 3/Higher Education representative, appointed in May 2015; West Doss of Fayetteville, District 3/At-Large representative, appointed in March 2016; Dr. Andrew Fulkerson of Paragould, District 1 representative, appointed October 2010; and Jones, District 3 representative, originally appointed to the commission in October 2010 and reappointed in March 2013.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).