Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > FOI NOTICE: AETN Commission to meet Dec. 1

FOI NOTICE: AETN Commission to meet Dec. 1

Posted 23 Nov 2010

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Commission will meet Wednesday, Dec. 1, at 2 p.m. at The Center of Bryant in Bishop Park, 6401 Boone Road, Bryant.

This is an open meeting under the provisions of the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act, and the public is invited.

Following the meeting, AETN will host a community reception from 4-6 p.m. at The Center of Bryant where the public is invited to meet new AETN Commissioners Dr. Katheryn Jones of Bentonville and Dr. Andrew Fulkerson of Paragould, both recently appointed by Gov. Mike Beebe. The public is also invited to meet Chuck Dovish, Bryant resident and host of the popular series "Exploring Arkansas." Dovish will preview his upcoming series, "National Wildlife Refuges in Arkansas," which will premiere in March. This will be the first, exclusive look at America's best kept secret. AETN Commissioners and staff will be on hand to discuss programming, outreach and education efforts.

Dr. Katheryn Jones of Bentonville has been appointed to serve as District 3 representative on the AETN Commission.

"I'm looking forward to serving on the AETN Commission and working with other commissioners and the AETN staff to fulfill AETNs mission," Jones said.

Among Jones's favorite AETN programs are "Keeping Up Appearances," "Are You Being Served?" and "Washington Week in Review." Jones earned a Masters of Education from the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville and a Doctorate of Education from Oklahoma State University and has nearly 40 years of public education experience. Jones retired in 2009 after serving 17 years as executive director of the Higher Education Alumni Council of Oklahoma, a statewide advocacy and support organization for Oklahomas state colleges and universities. Jones currently resides in Bentonville and is an active member of the Bentonville Rotary and Friends of the Bentonville Public Library and serves on the Board of Trustees of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. Jones's term on the AETN Commission Board ends March 23, 2013.

Dr. Andrew Fulkerson, appointed to District 1, is an associate professor of law and criminal justice at Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau, Mo., where he is the coordinator of the universitys online graduate program in criminal justice.

"The citizens of Arkansas are fortunate to have a public broadcasting network such as the Emmy Award-winning AETN," Fulkerson said. "It is an honor to have the opportunity to serve on the AETN Commission and to promote its very important public mission."

Fulkerson resides and practices law in Paragould and is the former judge of the Greene County District Court, having served 15 years in that position. He is a former member of the Arkansas Judicial Discipline and Disability Commission and past president of the Arkansas District Judges Council. Fulkerson holds a B.A. in history and M.A. in sociology from Arkansas State University, a J.D. in law from the University of Arkansas, and a Ph.D. in criminology from the University of Portsmouth, U.K. He is married to Sonjia Fulkerson and has a son, Jon Fulkerson, and two grandchildren, Juli and Reese.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public  television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).