Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > Candidates in nine races to participate in 'Election 2014: AETN Debates'

Candidates in nine races to participate in 'Election 2014: AETN Debates'

Posted 08 Oct 2014

Candidates in nine races have agreed to participate in "Election 2014: AETN Debates," which will tape and air on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Oct. 13-17. Additionally, debates will be streamed live during taping at

"For more than a decade, 'AETN Debates' have provided an equal opportunity to all legally qualified candidates, including third party candidates," AETN Executive Producer Carole Adornetto said. "Most importantly, AETN hosts election-year debates for Arkansas voters.

"Our format can show the candidates' grasp of a wide range of the issues and their abilities to think on their feet."

All debates will be held at the Donald W. Reynolds Performance Hall on the University of Central Arkansas campus, 223 Beatrice Powell Street, Conway. Admission is free, and the public is invited. Seating is available on a first come, first served basis. Doors will open one hour prior to taping times.

Debates, which will be streamed live and broadcast the same day they are taped, include:

Major funding for "Election 2014: AETN Debates" is provided by AARP Arkansas.

"It is not only a privilege but a responsibility to vote," Maria Reynolds-Diaz, state director for AARP Arkansas, said. "Debates provide an important platform for receiving information on how the candidate stands on key issues so voters can make informed decisions.

"AARP Arkansas is proud to support the AETN debates in concert with AARP's mission to improve the quality of life as we age."

In addition to keeping viewers informed about the candidates, "Election 2014: Ballot Initiatives" will air Monday, Oct. 13, at 9:30 p.m. The proposed initiatives that have reached the ballot will be discussed in this 30-minute program produced in conjunction with the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Cooperative Extension Service. Panelists include: Dr. Stacey McCullough, director of the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Public Policy Center, and Dr. Wayne Miller, professor for the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Cooperative Extension Service. "Election 2014: Ballot Initiatives" will repeat Thursday, Oct. 16, at 6:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.

All debates will repeat in their entirety Sunday, Nov. 2, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Additional information, including debate attendance rules, and live streaming is available at

AETN makes all debates available free of charge to all commercial and public television and radio stations for simulcast or rebroadcast. Interested networks should contact Carole Adornetto at 800-662-2386 to specify a format and make arrangements for receiving the debates.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).