Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN's 'Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase' celebrates scholarship winners, student films at Little Rock Film Festival

AETN's 'Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase' celebrates scholarship winners, student films at Little Rock Film Festival

Posted 03 Jun 2011

“Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” a production of the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN), scholarships will be awarded, student film selections will be screened and workshops will be held at this year’s Little Rock Film Festival (LRFF) to celebrate and support young filmmakers’ talent.
THEA Foundation scholarship winners include Elle Ternes and Christopher Marrin from Fayetteville High School for Screenwriting and Directing respectively;  Michael Xiques from Mountain Home High School for Cinematography; and Madison Heim from Springdale Har-Ber High School for Editing.  The public is invited to an awards ceremony sponsored by the Arkansas Film Commission on Saturday, June 4, 5-7 p.m. at Argenta Community Theater in North Little Rock.  Student films will be screened following the awards ceremony. 
Space is still available for youth to join two concurrent workshops to explore the art and craft of filmmaking.  The LRFF Youth Filmmaking Panels includes workshop panels and screenings for young filmmakers of any age and skill level.  The LRFF Youth Music Video Production Workshop is a hands-on workshop that allows students with experience directing, shooting, lighting and editing to work alongside professional filmmakers in the production of a music video (pre-registration is required).  To register, contact Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or  Presenters include Leslie Rule, Adobe Youth Voices/PBS; Diana Sperrazza, Exec. Producer, Investigation Discovery;  Joel C. High, music supervisor and producer for more than 100 films and television projects including Tyler Perry’s films; Zak Piper, co-producer from award-winning documentary “Interrupters”;  Rashid Ghazi, Director of “Fordson:  Faith, Fasting, and Football”.  For a complete list of panels and workshop topics, visit
“Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase” is an annual AETN event that highlights the creativity and talent of the state’s kindergarten through 12th grade students. The project grants these future filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on and screening at the Little Rock Film Festival.  LRFF Youth! is a partnership with the Little Rock Film Festival, the Arkansas Film Commission, the THEA Foundation, the Little Rock Film Commission, PBS VoiceScape, Adobe Youth Voices/PBS and POV.  For more information visit
Tickets and passes may be purchased at
The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and Board of Directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea’s legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership, and other programs.
The Little Rock Film Festival takes place annually each June in the historic River Market District. The festival showcases the best in narrative and documentary films from around the world and promotes Arkansas filmmakers through a dedicated program of film screenings, panels, workshops and youth programs.
The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).