Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN’s 'Student Selects 2014’ premieres Sept. 25

AETN’s 'Student Selects 2014’ premieres Sept. 25

Posted 18 Sep 2014

The work of Arkansas's next generation of filmmakers will be showcased in "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase 2014" airing on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Thursday, Sept. 25, at 7 p.m. The films will repeat as part of AETN Arts Fridays in four, 30-minute segments on Fridays, beginning Sept. 26, at 6:30 each night.

"Student Selects" is an annual event that highlights the creativity and talent of the state’s kindergarten through 12th grade students. Young filmmakers submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN and streaming on, and graduating seniors may compete for THEA Foundation scholarships in screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing.

"Student Selects" will be a series of four episodes. Episode one will include:

Episode two will include:

Episode three will include:

Episode four will include:

All episodes will air Thursday, Sept. 25, from 7 to 9 p.m. Following the initial broadcast, "Student Selects" will air Fridays, Sept. 29 through Oct. 17, as four, 30-minute episodes.

Featured in the broadcast are the 2014 Young Filmmakers Scholarship winning films:

A second "Student Selects" Halloween special, featuring murder mystery, zombies, ghosts and other spooky student films, will air in two parts Friday, Oct. 31, at 6:30 and 10 p.m.

September also marks the new 2014-2015 "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase" and Young Filmmakers Scholarship eligibility period. Entry categories include, but are not limited to, documentary, narrative, animation and music videos. A complete list of film credits and information about submission guidelines is available at Entries for 2015 must be submitted by March 27 to be considered for scholarships.

AETN supports, highlights and distributes young filmmakers handiwork in cooperation with the THEA Foundation, the Little Rock Film Festival, the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival, the Arkansas Film Commission and the Arkansas Motion Picture Institute.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).