Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN wins Telly Awards for two programs

AETN wins Telly Awards for two programs

Posted 09 Apr 2014

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) production department has been honored with two Telly Awards in the 35th annual competition that received nearly 12,000 entries from all 50 states and numerous countries.

"AETN Presents: On the Front Row With Rodney Block and The Real Music Lovers" claimed a Bronze Telly in the live events category. This episode features Block's virtuosity on the jazz trumpet, as well as highlighting his ensemble The Real Music Lovers and guest vocalist Bijoux. The performance includes a mix of high energy jazz and ballads. Block, a native of Dumas, is an up and coming trumpet player who describes his style as groovy, upbeat, hip-hop jazz. Block has shared the stage with such artists as Earth, Wind, & Fire, Joe, Whodini, Johnny Gill, Johnathon Butler, Dave Hollister and Wynton Marsalis. Playing with him are The Real Music Lovers, featuring Sam Carroll on keyboards, Jonathon Burks on drums and Oliver "OT" Thomas on bass. This core ensemble has been together for five years, performing throughout the state, the South and abroad.

"How Can I Afford Retirement?" also received a Bronze Telly in the use of graphics category. This live, call-in program was designed to help Arkansans make plans for the future amidst widespread financial and political uncertainty. "How Can I Afford Retirement?" addresses relevant topics, such as Social Security, 401ks, investments, longevity and expense strategies. Key subject matter featured in the five-segment special includes: "Taking the Mystery Out of Retirement," "Closing the Gap: Investing and Expense Strategies for Late Starters," "Investing Wisely to Avoid the Financial Risk of Longer Life Expectancy," "Protecting Your Investments: The Best Defense is a Wise and Safe Investor," and a closing question and answer session featuring viewer questions. "How Can I Afford Retirement" is underwritten in part by a grant from the Arkansas Securities Department and the Investor Protection Trust.

A prestigious judging panel of more than 500 accomplished industry professionals, each a past winner of a Silver Telly and a member of The Silver Telly Council, judged the competition, upholding the historical standard of excellence that Telly represents. The Silver Council evaluated entries to recognize distinction in creative work - entries do not compete against each other - rather entries are judged against a high standard of merit. Less than 10 percent of entries are chosen as winners of the Silver Telly, the competition's highest honor. Approximately 25 percent of entries are chosen as winners of the Bronze Telly.

The Telly Awards was founded in 1979 and is the premier award honoring outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials and programs, the finest video and film productions, and online commercials, video and films. Winners represent the best work of the most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators and corporate video departments in the world.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).