Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN wins Telly Awards for 'Silent Storytellers,' 'Men & Women of Distinction'

AETN wins Telly Awards for 'Silent Storytellers,' 'Men & Women of Distinction'

Posted 04 Apr 2011

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) production department has been honored with two Telly Awards in the 32nd annual competition.
“Our viewers can always count on our dedicated AETN producers to work hard and do the absolute best to illuminate the culture and heritage of Arkansas,” AETN Executive Producer Carole Adornetto said. “We are delighted to be receive industry awards that recognize these efforts.”
“Silent Storytellers” claimed a Silver Telly, the competition’s highest honor, in the documentary category. Produced by Hop Litzwire and AETN’s Casey Sanders, “Silent Storytellers” explores the cultural, artistic and personal stories cemeteries provide to the surrounding communities. Guided by author and cemetery researcher Abby Burnett, the film takes viewers to cemeteries around the state and features tombstones with tales of murder, family heirlooms and folk-art inspired carvings. “Silent Storytellers” also features information about the best techniques for preserving, repairing and maintaining tombstones. Funding for “Silent Storytellers” was provided by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Arkansas Department of Heritage.
“Men & Women of Distinction: Miller Williams” won a Bronze Telly in the cultural category. Produced by AETN’s Mark Wilcken, the program details the life of Williams, who might be best remembered as the man who delivered the inaugural poem at Bill Clinton's second inauguration. In the early ’70s, Williams accepted a position at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville where he cofounded the University of Arkansas Press and the Comparative Literature program; founded the university’s MFA program in Literary Translation; and taught and mentored emerging poets.
Founded in 1978, the Telly Awards is the premier award honoring outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials and programs, as well as the finest video and film productions and web commercials, videos and films. The Telly Awards annually showcases the best work of the most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators and corporate video departments in the world. The Telly Awards is a widely known and highly respected national and international competition and receives over 11,000 entries annually from all 50 states and many foreign countries.
The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).