Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN wins Aurora Awards for 'AETN Presents,' 'Minority Matters'

AETN wins Aurora Awards for 'AETN Presents,' 'Minority Matters'

Posted 13 Mar 2014

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) production department has been honored with two Aurora Awards in the 2013 competition. Works recognized in this competition achieved a high standard of excellence in the film industry in 2013.

"Many thanks to the Aurora Awards jury for this recognition," AETN Executive Producer Carole Adornetto said. "Winning awards for what we love to do is never part of the equation when we are developing original programs for our viewers.

"But, when the show is noted for its excellence, it is quite gratifying. AETN shares these 2013 Aurora Awards with all Arkansans whose stories we celebrate in our programs."

"AETN Presents: On the Front Row With Rodney Block and The Real Music Lovers" was awarded a Platinum Best of Show in the Musical-Live Concert category. This episode features Block's virtuosity on the jazz trumpet, as well as highlighting his ensemble The True Music Lovers and guest vocalist Bijoux. The performance includes a mix of high energy jazz and ballads. Block, a native of Dumas, is an up and coming trumpet player who describes his style as groovy, upbeat, hip-hop jazz. Block has shared the stage with such artists as Earth, Wind, & Fire, Joe, Whodini, Johnny Gill, Johnathon Butler, Dave Hollister and Wynton Marsalis. Playing with him are The Real Music Lovers, featuring Sam Carroll on keyboards, Jonathon Burks on drums and Oliver "OT" Thomas on bass. This core ensemble has been together for five years, performing throughout the state, the South and abroad.

"Minority Matters" was awarded a Gold Award in the News Magazine/Interview category. "Minority Matters" is a monthly series that seeks to create a deeper level of understanding and awareness of minority issues for all Arkansans and to explore the state's current successes, challenges and opportunities. Each month, a new episode provides a dedicated forum for discussion and exploration of issues affecting Arkansans from a minority perspective. Local attorney, businessman and community leader Sylvester Smith hosts.

The Aurora Awards is an international competition designed to recognize excellence in the film and video industries. Aurora Awards was created in 1996 with the goal of letting a wide range of producers compete in the same competition. All films are judged by the same criteria (professional execution, quality content and creativity) despite their individual specialties. Judges come from across the continental U.S. and are working professionals who uphold the standard of excellence, as well as provide valuable feedback. In 2013 the Aurora Awards celebrated its 18th anniversary and now received entries from around the world, including India, United Kingdom, Croatia, Canada, Greece and Denmark.

Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).