Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN to host nine debates in 'Election 2010'

AETN to host nine debates in 'Election 2010'

Posted 06 Oct 2010

Candidates in nine races have agreed to participate in "Election 2010: The Debates," which will tape and air on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Oct. 11-15.

All debates will be held at the Donald W. Reynolds Performance Hall on the University of Central Arkansas campus in Conway. The public is invited to attend any of the debates and will be seated on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Debates, which will air on the same day they are taped, include:

In addition to keeping viewers informed about the candidates, "Election 2010: The Ballot Initiatives" will air Friday, Oct. 15, at 6:30 p.m. and repeat Sunday, Oct. 31, at 5:30 p.m. A panel will discuss Proposed Constitutional Amendment No. 1, an amendment to provide for a constitutional right to hunt, fish, trap and harvest wildlife; Proposed Constitutional Amendment No. 2, concerning interest rate limits; Proposed Constitutional Amendment No. 3, to amend amendment 82 of the constitution of Arkansas to authorize the general assembly to establish criteria before authorizing the issuance of bonds for prospective employers planning an economic development project.

Additional information and exclusive content is available at

The C-SPAN Network has requested broadcast rights for U.S. Congressional District 1 and U.S. Senate. C-SPAN, a private, non-profit company, was created in 1979 to provide public access to the political process and is now in more than 100 million homes nationwide. AETN's debates will be repeated in C-SPAN's schedule randomly until Nov. 2.

AETN makes all debates available free of charge to all commercial and public television and radio stations for simulcast or rebroadcast. Interested networks should contact Carole Adornetto at 800-662-2386 to specify a format and make arrangements for receiving the debates.

"Election 2010: The Debates" is being produced in partnership with the University of Central Arkansas, the Donald W. Reynolds Performance Hall, AARP Arkansas and the Conway Convention & Visitors Bureau. 

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).