Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN to host annual Quiz Bowl state finals April 28

AETN to host annual Quiz Bowl state finals April 28

Posted 19 Apr 2018

High school students will showcase their intellect in the annual Arkansas Governor's Academic Competition at the Arkansas Educational Television Network Saturday, April 28, in "Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2018."

"Quiz Bowl 2018" will be broadcast in two parts: 9 a.m. to noon and 1:30 to 4 p.m. The finals will involve seven conferences for a total of 14 teams. All games are broadcast from AETN, and scholarship money will be awarded.

The first round of matches beginning at 9 a.m. will include in order of appearance:

  1. 5A – Pulaski Academy (Little Rock) and Little Rock Christian Academy.
  2. 3A – Centerpoint (Amity) and Haas Hall Academy Fayetteville.
  3. 6A – Greenwood and Russellville.
  4. 1A – Norfork and Haas Hall Academy Bentonville.

The second round of matches beginning at 1:30 p.m. will include in order of appearance:

  1. 2A – Rison and Conway Christian.
  2. 7A – Conway and Fayetteville.
  3. 4A – Hamburg and Huntsville.

The public is invited to be a part of the audience at the AETN studios, 350 South Donaghey Avenue, Conway, and will be seated on a first come, first served basis. Spectators will be admitted via the main entrance on Beatrice Powell and should arrive no later than 8:30 a.m. for the first round and 1 p.m. for the second round.

"Quiz Bowl" is a celebration and recognition of scholarship that has been an AETN tradition since 1985. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge in literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics. Teams from across the state compete for the chance to represent the Natural State in national tournaments.

The Arkansas Governor's Quiz Bowl Association holds regional tournaments around the state during March. Teams are assigned to a site, and a random drawing places the teams on the pairing schedule. A percentage of teams in the tournament advance to the state tournament. The top two teams from each classification advance to the State Conference Finals.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN

PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. Audiences can also watch on several digital platforms, and members with AETN Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).