Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN to air 'Motown 25' special Feb. 28

AETN to air 'Motown 25' special Feb. 28

Posted 24 Feb 2015

'Motown 25: Yesterday, Today, Forever,' the famous 1983 special on which Michael Jackson debuted his signature moonwalk and Smokey Robinson reunited with the Miracles, will air on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Saturday, Feb. 28, at 8 p.m.

The two-hour program has not aired since its initial broadcast on NBC due to complex rights issues, and public television producer and doo-wop showman TJ Lubinsky has negotiated an exclusive contract for public television stations to broadcast the entire show.

The list of performers is a who's who from Motown, the famous Detroit-based record label: Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, Diana Ross, the Supremes, the Jackson 5, the Temptations, the Four Tops and more. Hosting is comedian Richard Pryor, then at the height of his career. The show went on to win a Peabody Award and an Emmy for variety program.

Although he was just 11 at the time, Lubinsky vividly remembers watching the special, which featured a series of dazzling performances by entertainers who rarely performed on the same stage.

It was the only time in my life where everybody was talking about the same thing for the next couple days,' Lubinsky said. 'Teachers, kids in school, disc jockeys on the radio were all buzzing.

'It was just one of those shows.'

'Motown 25: Yesterday, Today, Forever' will repeat Sunday, March 1, at 10 a.m.; Friday, March 6, at 8 p.m.; and Saturday, March 7, at 11 a.m.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).