Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN to air films made by local students beginning Sept. 8

AETN to air films made by local students beginning Sept. 8

Posted 01 Sep 2017

The Arkansas Educational Television Network kicks off the school year with "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase," featuring must-see films made by students from across Arkansas beginning Friday, Sept. 8, at 6:30 p.m. "Student Selects" will air in four segments Fridays, Sept. 8 through Oct. 6 at 6:30 each night.

Selections include comedies, family dramas, personal documentaries and historical films. The broadcast also includes films recognized with Thea Foundation Young Filmmaker Scholarships, Historic Arkansas Film Prizes and Central High Desegregation 60th Anniversary Film Competition honors.

Films to be featured Sept. 8 include:

Films to be featured Sept. 15 include:

Films to be featured Sept. 22 include:

Films to be featured Oct. 6 include:

This fall AETN Student Selects will also host the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival's Emerging Filmmakers Program. Additional information, submission guidelines, entry deadlines and application forms are available at

Now entering its 12th year, "Student Selects" is an annual event that grants these future filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on, and screening at the Young Filmmakers Showcase and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival in October.

High school seniors who submit films to AETN's "Student Selects" may also compete for $10,000 in college scholarships from the Thea Foundation. Thea Foundation awards four $2,500 Young Filmmaker Scholarships to graduating seniors who enter and qualify. This Thea scholarship competition is unique in that it is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED. Scholarships will be awarded to the student's institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

In partnership with the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Arkansas Humanities Council, and the Central High National Historic Site ninth through 12th grade students, including homeschooled students, competed for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, which accepts only documentaries about historic sites in the state that are 50 or more years old. Prizes awarded included: grand prize, $1,000; first place, $500; second place, $400; third place, $300; and fourth place, $200.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources.

The Thea Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea's legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.

Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site is committed to preserving and interpreting the story of the 1957 desegregation crisis at historic Central High School as it relates to the larger story of Civil Rights history in America.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).