Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN to air '2014 National Geographic Bee' finals May 24

AETN to air '2014 National Geographic Bee' finals May 24

Posted 19 May 2014

The finals of the "2014 National Geographic Bee" will air on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Saturday, May 24, at 4:30 p.m. State Geographic Bee winners from across the country will compete for the National Bee title and scholarships at the national event, which will be held in Washington, D.C., May 19 - 21. Christian Boekhout, an 8th grade student at Hot Springs Middle School, will represent Arkansas in the competition.

The preliminary rounds of the national contest will take place Monday, May 19. The top 10 finalists will each win $500 and advance to the final round Wednesday, May 21, which will be moderated for the first time by award-winning journalist, speaker, producer and television host Soledad O'Brien.

First prize is a $50,000 college scholarship and lifetime membership in the National Geographic Society. Second- and third-place finishers receive $25,000 and $10,000 college scholarships, respectively.

The finalists, all winners of their state-level geographic bees, have triumphed over a field of nearly 4 million students to earn a place in the national championships. They represent the 50 states, District of Columbia, U.S. Atlantic & Pacific territories and Department of Defense Dependents Schools.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).