Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN productions receive Emmy nominations

AETN productions receive Emmy nominations

Posted 01 Sep 2010

The Arkansas PBSs Silent Storytellers and Men & Women of Distinction: Dr. Joycelyn Elders have received Emmy nominations in the 2010 annual awards competition of the Mid-America Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS).

Silent Storytellers, a documentary co-produced by Casey Sanders and Hop Litzwire, explores the cultural, artistic and personal stories cemeteries provide to the surrounding communities. It is nominated for Best Historical Documentary, Best Director, Best Editor, Best Photographer and Best Musical Composition.

Men & Women of Distinction: Dr. Joycelyn Elders, a one-on-one interview in which Elders opens up about overcoming adversity to become the first black U.S. Surgeon General, is nominated for Best Interview Discussion.

Its an honor to be recognized by ones peers with six Emmy Nominations, AETN Executive Producer Carole Adornetto said. But, the praise belongs to Arkansas because every story we tell has, at its heart, the people and places of our beautiful state.

We are so grateful to the Emmy judges for recognizing AETN and Arkansas in this way.

Silent Storytellers was funded by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Arkansas Department of Heritage. Visit for behind-the-scenes clips, additional interviews and downloadable information about tombstone preservation.

Men & Women of Distinction features interviews with prominent Arkansans known for their citizenship, character and accomplishments. The series has previously featured former governors and U.S. senators David Pryor and Dale Bumpers, as well as former governor Sid McMath and Judge Morris Arnold.

Both Silent Storytellers and Men & Women of Distinction: Dr. Joycelyn Elders may be viewed in their entirety online at Additionally, Silent Storytellers has been selected for a screening at the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival, which will be held Oct. 15-24 at the Malco Theatre.

Also receiving Emmy nominations was Sacred Spaces: The Architecture of Fay Jones, a documentary by University of Arkansas journalism professors Larry Foley and Dale Carpenter, that premiered on AETN. The documentary has been nominated for Best Cultural Documentary, Best Photographer, Best Editor and Best Musical Score for U of A graduate Kevin Croxton. The film is shown regularly on UATV and is available on DVD from the University of Arkansas Press.

The winners will be announced in St. Louis on Oct. 9 at the Annual Emmy Gala.

The NATAS Mid-America chapter, which includes television markets primarily in Arkansas, Illinois and Missouri, was chartered in 1962 and began honoring outstanding achievement in this region with local Emmy awards in 1976. The organizations mission is to encourage excellence in the television community.

The Arkansas PBS (AETN) is Arkansass statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).