Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN hosts 30th annual Quiz Bowl state finals April 25

AETN hosts 30th annual Quiz Bowl state finals April 25

Posted 20 Apr 2015

'Over the years, Quiz Bowl has become an Arkansas tradition, as well as a showcase for the state's most dedicated students and their coaches,' Gov. Asa Hutchinson said. 'I am proud to say I'm the father of a Quiz Bowl champion, and I'm especially proud that Arkansas has been part of Quiz Bowl for 30 years.

'We all look forward to many more years of great competition.'

'Quiz Bowl 2015' will be broadcast in two parts – 9 a.m. to noon and 1:30 to 4 p.m. The finals will involve seven conferences for a total of 14 teams. All games are broadcast from AETN, and scholarship money will be awarded.

'AETN is committed to making a positive impact on the lives of young people in the state, and broadcasting their remarkable knowledge is something we've been proud to do for 30 years,' AETN Executive Director Allen Weatherly said. 'Quiz Bowl is a natural fit for AETN, as education is at the heart of everything we do, and we look forward to continuing this tradition for years to come.'

The first round of matches beginning at 9 a.m. will include in order of appearance:

  1. 3A – Episcopal Collegiate (Little Rock) vs. Centerpoint (Amity).
  2. 6A – Benton vs. Russellville.
  3. 1A – Sacred Heart (Morrilton) vs. Mt. Vernon-Enola.
  4. 2A – Hazen vs Conway Christian.

The second round of matches beginning at 1:30 p.m. will include in order of appearance:

  1. 7A – Fort Smith Southside vs. Conway.
  2. 4A – Subiaco Academy vs. Hamburg.
  3. 5A – Morrilton vs. Little Rock Christian.

Immediately following the last match on April 25 will be a special tribute to 30 years of Quiz Bowl competition in Arkansas by Gov. Asa Hutchinson.

The public is invited to be a part of the audience at the AETN studios, 350 South Donaghey, Conway, and will be seated on a first come, first served basis. Spectators will be admitted via the Sesame Street entrance and should arrive no later than 8:30 a.m. for the first round and 1 p.m. for the second round.

'Quiz Bowl has been a source of pride and passion for me for 30 years,' Steve Patterson, Arkadelphia Quiz Bowl coach and quizmaster, said. 'The partnership of Quiz Bowl and AETN has been an amazing success story.

'It has been a joy to watch students showcase their considerable abilities on TV, and then go on to be a success in every area of life. No other activity spotlights the academic brilliance of our state's young people like Quiz Bowl, and I look forward to 30 more years!'

'Quiz Bowl' is a celebration and recognition of scholarship that has been an AETN tradition since 1985. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge in literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics. Teams from across the state compete for the chance to represent the Natural State in national tournaments.

'From an early beginning in 1984-85 when only about 20 to 30 teams participated in senior high Quiz Bowl, to 2015 with approximately 450 senior high, junior high and middle school teams participating, Quiz Bowl has come a long way,' Carolyn Shry, director of the Arkansas Governor's Quiz Bowl Association, said. 'With more students involved than almost any other competition for junior high, middle school and senior high students, it is a truly academic competition that highlights the best and brightest Arkansas students.'

The Arkansas Governor's Quiz Bowl Association holds regional tournaments around the state during March. Teams are assigned to a site, and a random drawing places the teams on the pairing schedule. A percentage of teams in the tournament advance to the state tournament. The top two teams from each classification advance to the State Conference Finals.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).