Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN hosts 25th annual ‘Quiz Bowl’ state finals

AETN hosts 25th annual ‘Quiz Bowl’ state finals

Posted 20 Apr 2010

“Quiz Bowl 2010” will be broadcast on Saturday in two sections – 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 2 to 5 p.m. The finals will still involve seven conferences for a total of 14 teams.

Saturday's first round of matches beginning at 10 a.m. will include in order of appearance: 

1. 4A Huntsville vs. Malvern

2. 5A Morrilton vs. Mills (Little Rock)

3. 3A Centerpoint vs. Episcopal Collegiate (Little Rock)

4. 6A Parkview (Little Rock) vs. Watson Chapel (Pine Bluff)

Saturday’s second round of matches beginning at 2 p.m. will include in order of appearance: 

1. 1A Sacred Heart (Morrilton) vs. South Side Bee Branch

2. 2A Murfreesboro vs. Magazine

3. 7A Little Rock Central vs. Fort Smith Southside

The public is invited to be a part of the audience at the AETN studios in Conway and will be seated on a first come, first served basis. Spectators will be admitted via the Sesame Street entrance and should arrive no later than 9:30 a.m. for the early round and 1:30 pm for the later round.

“Quiz Bowl” is a celebration and recognition of scholarship that has been an AETN tradition since 1985. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge in literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics. Teams from across the state compete for the chance to represent the Natural State in national tournaments.

All games are broadcast from the AETN studios in Conway, and scholarship money will be awarded.

The Arkansas Governor’s Quiz Bowl Association holds regional tournaments around the state during March. Teams are assigned to a site, and a random drawing places the teams on the pairing schedule. A percentage of teams in the tournament advance to the state tournament. The top two teams from each classification advance to the State Conference Finals.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).