Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN Foundation recognizes volunteers in annual banquet

AETN Foundation recognizes volunteers in annual banquet

Posted 25 Oct 2013

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Foundation held their annual Volunteer Appreciation and Awards Dinner on Thursday, Oct. 24, to recognize those who assist with fundraising for public service media throughout the year.

Nancy Chappell of Conway received the Jane Krutz Volunteer Service Award in recognition of more than 13 years of volunteering and organizing a group of retired Conway residents and year-round volunteers who call themselves The Golden Guys and Gals. Since its creation, members of The Golden Guys and Gals have volunteered their time to serve at AETN every Tuesday and Friday afternoon.

The Golden Guys and Gals of Conway were also recognized individually for their invaluable volunteer service. Members of the group include Nancy and Bob Chappell, Marge and Ray Stark, Deola and Ray Davis, Vivian Hendon, Joyce Hartsfield, Melba O'Kelley, Kay Huesmann, Nancy and Lyle Allison, Reba Luck, and Barbara and Wayne King.

The Arkansas State Employees Association was inducted into the AETN Foundation’s Volunteer Hall of Fame for more than 20 years of volunteer service and underwriting sponsorship of an AETN original production, "Arkansans Ask: The Governor."

Eric Fulton of Conway was recognized as Volunteer of the Year. University of Central Arkansas Delta Zeta was recognized as Volunteer Group of the Year, and Russo’s Cola-Fired Italian Kitchen of Conway was named Vendor of the Year.

To begin the evening, a silent auction reception was held to benefit the AETN Foundation's Jane Krutz Volunteer Program Endowment, created in honor of Jane Krutz, volunteer for more than 45 years. Guests also enjoyed music by The Shannon Boshears Band, followed by dinner donated by Russo's Coal-Fired Italian Kitchen in Conway.

The AETN Foundation exists to raise the funds necessary to support AETN’s mission of enhancing lives through trusted public television programs and educational services. The Foundation provides Arkansans opportunities to connect with the only statewide public media outlet by becoming a financial donor, corporate or foundation partner, volunteer, or by other means of giving. The AETN Foundation builds relationships between AETN, donors and viewers and is committed to being a transparent and accountable steward of private financial support.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).