Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > Arkansas PBS Foundaion recognizes volunteers in annual banquet

Arkansas PBS Foundaion recognizes volunteers in annual banquet

Posted 26 Feb 2013

The Arkansas PBS (AETN) Foundation recently held their annual Volunteer Appreciation and Awards Dinner to recognize those who assist with fundraising for public service media throughout the year.

“Each year, hundreds of individuals volunteer their time to the Arkansas PBS Foundaion and AETN, performing various assignments ranging from office work to assisting with special events or membership drives,” Arkansas PBS Foundaion COO Mona Dixon said. “Our annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner is a special night that we set aside to recognize those individuals who make our mission possible.”

Nelda Kennedy of Quitman received the Jane Krutz Volunteer Service Award in recognition of more than 40 years volunteering and organizing groups from the Cleburne County Sheriff's Department. Tom and Patsy Desaulniers of Conway were recognized as Volunteers of the Year. Lyle and Nancy Allison of Conway were inducted into the Arkansas PBS Foundaion's Volunteer Hall of Fame.

Dustin Johnson of Harrisburg, Joyce Hartsfield and Beth Workman of Conway and The Strange Birds of Arkansas (Little Rock Parrot Head Club) were all recognized as Newcomer Volunteers of the Year.

The Better Business Bureau of Arkansas was recognized as Volunteer Group of the Year, and Michelangelo's Italian Ristorante of Conway was named Vendor of the Year.
Additionally, a special group of volunteers, the Golden Guys & Gals of Conway, were given 10 Year pins in honor of their invaluable volunteer service. Members of the group include Nancy and Bob Chappell, Marge and Ray Stark, Deola and Ray Davis, Vivian Hendon, Joyce Hartsfield, Melba O'Kelley, Kay Huesmann, Nancy and Lyle Allison, Reba Luck, and Barbara and Wayne King.

The event included a “mocktail” hour and silent auction, dinner donated by Russo's Coal-Fired Italian Kitchen in Conway and music courtesy of The Shannon Boshears Band. Proceeds totaling nearly $1,200 from the silent auction benefited the Arkansas PBS Foundaion's Jane Krutz Volunteer Program Endowment, created in honor of Jane Krutz, volunteer for more than 45 years.

Auction donors included: Blue Bell Creameries, Ye Olde Daisy Shoppe, Maggie's Cookies, Patticakes, Fletcher Smith Jewelers, Winthrop Rockefeller Institute, Conway Cinemark, Bravo! Cucina Italiana, Domino's of Conway, Papa Murphy's of Conway, Michelangelo's Italian Ristorante, Mike's Place, Hastings of Conway, Carole Adornetto, Gene Hatfield, Sharon Gray, and Mona Dixon.

The Arkansas PBS Foundaion exists to raise the funds necessary to support AETN’s mission of enhancing lives through trusted public television programs and educational services. The Foundation provides Arkansans opportunities to connect with the only statewide public media outlet by becoming a financial donor, corporate or foundation partner, volunteer, or by other means of giving. The Arkansas PBS Foundaion builds relationships between AETN, donors and viewers and is committed to being a transparent and accountable steward of private financial support.