Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > Arkansas PBS Foundaion honors volunteers

Arkansas PBS Foundaion honors volunteers

Posted 29 Dec 2008

The Arkansas PBS Foundation recently held their annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner themed "Volunteers are the Stars of the Show."

"Each year, hundreds of individuals volunteer their time to the Arkansas PBS Foundaion and AETN, performing various assignments ranging from office work to assisting with special events or membership drives," Arkansas PBS Foundaion COO Mona Dixon said. "Our annual Volunteer Appreciation Dinner is a special night that we set aside to recognize those individuals who make our mission possible."

Approximately 100 people attended the event, which was held at the Central Baptist Church Family Life Center in Conway. A total of 20 awards were given to individuals and groups for their work with the Arkansas PBS Foundaion.

The Jane Krutz Volunteer Service Award was presented posthumously to Gertrude Ann "Mike" Bohlken, a longtime volunteer who passed away in August 2008. Receiving the award on her behalf were two of her daughters, Debbie Bohlken-Croft and Karel McCullar.

The Arkansas State Employees Association (ASEA) was honored with the Best Ensemble Cast Award. ASEA has volunteered for the Arkansas PBS Foundaion for more than 20 years and underwrites the "Arkansans Ask" call-in series.

RoZark Hill Coffee Roasterie in Rose Bud was named Business Partner of the Year.

Volunteers who have provided more than 1,000 hours of service in the past 10 years were inducted into the AETN Volunteer Hall of Fame. Kevin Clay was the 2008 inductee.

The Arkansas PBS Foundaion exists solely to raise funds necessary to support the programs and services that AETN provides to Arkansans.

The Arkansas PBS provides lifelong learning opportunities, improves and enhances Arkansans lives and celebrates the unique culture of Arkansas through its programming and services. AETNs digital and analog transmitters and numerous cable system connections give it statewide reach.