Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN Commission elects new officers

AETN Commission elects new officers

Posted 25 Jul 2019

The Arkansas PBS Commission elected new officers during its June 20 meeting at the network headquarters in Conway.

A nominating committee of the commission elected George "Skip" Holland of Fayetteville as commission chair, John Brown of Siloam Springs as vice chair and West Doss of Fayetteville as secretary/treasurer.

"It is an honor and privilege to serve as chairman of the AETN Commission," Holland said. "I relish the opportunity to work with the talented and dedicated management and staff of Arkansas's public media station.

"I am grateful to my fellow commissioners for allowing me to serve in this capacity, and I will strive to justify their confidence in me."

Holland succeeds outgoing Chair Annette Herrington of Little Rock, who was elected in 2017.

"It has been an honor to serve as chair," Herrington said. "I am particularly proud of 'State of the Art,' a locally-produced, Arkansas program that aired nationally on PBS; the creation of AR-CAN to give Arkansans access to local government proceedings; AETN Sports; and the expansion of ArkansasIDEAS resources to more than 57,000 teachers throughout the state."

Other commission members are Woody Freeman of Jonesboro and Dr. Kathryn Jones of Bentonville.

Commissioners are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Arkansas Senate. Commissioners serve eight-year terms, which are renewable. Of the eight commissioners, one will be from each of the state's four congressional districts, one will be actively involved in the Arkansas public school system and one will be actively involved in higher education in Arkansas. The role of an AETN commissioner is that of citizen representative responsible for the oversight of the statewide telecommunications network.

The Arkansas PBS is Arkansas's only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. Audiences can also watch on several digital platforms, and members with AETN Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).