Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN calls for 2014 student film showcase entries

AETN calls for 2014 student film showcase entries

Posted 19 Feb 2014

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is accepting entries for “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” which highlights the creativity and talent of the state’s kindergarten through 12th grade students. Selected entries will be broadcast on AETN and posted to

Entries must be submitted electronically or postmarked by Friday, March 28, and winners will be announced in May.

Additionally, the THEA Foundation awards $10,000 in college scholarships to high school seniors who submit films to AETN's “Student Selects.”. This THEA scholarship competition is unique in that it is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED. Scholarships will be awarded to the student’s institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

“When students embrace digital storytelling they explore subjects both serious and playful but always topics that are meaningful to them,” Casey Sanders, AETN producer, said. “Throughout the process they are engaged in the literacy of language, communication, technology, collaboration and problem-solving.

“AETN is proud to support Arkansas’s emerging filmmakers of all genres, allowing them to exhibit their many talents to statewide audiences and beyond.”

Now in its eighth year, “Student Selects” is an annual event that grants these future filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on and screening at the Little Rock Film Festival (LRFF) and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival (HSDFF). Throughout the year, “Student Selects” maintains an open call policy, and AETN will accept and review entries as they are received.

Entry categories for AETN and the THEA Foundation scholarships include, but are not limited to:

Anyone interested in submitting films should visit for complete rules, to submit entries electronically and to download entry forms for mailed entries. Past entries may also be viewed online. Additional information may be obtained by contacting Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or

AETN will also host a youth filmmaking workshop and screening of student films at the LRFF and HSDFF.

AETN “Student Selects” partners include THEA Foundation, Arkansas Film Commission LRFF, HSDFF and Arkansas Motion Picture Institute.

The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea’s legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).