Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN calls for 2012 student film showcase entries

AETN calls for 2012 student film showcase entries

Posted 13 Oct 2011

The Arkansas PBS (AETN) is now accepting entries for "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase," which highlights the creativity and talent of the state's kindergarten through 12th grade students, through Friday, April 6, 2012.

Now in its sixth year, "Student Selects" is an annual event that grants these future filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on and screening at the Little Rock Film Festival.

"When you give a young person a camera you are giving them a powerful tool—a tool that gives them a voice, the ability to tell their own story. Digital storytelling allows young people to express themselves and to explore and question the world around them," Casey Sanders, AETN producer and Little Rock Film Festival youth and education coordinator, said. "I've seen first-hand the personal transformation that takes place when you give a young person the chance to say something through filmmaking."

Four $2,500 scholarships, funded by the THEA Foundation, will be awarded to graduating seniors in the following categories: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. Scholarships will be awarded to the student's institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores. However, students must guarantee that they were the sole producer of the selected category.

Entry categories include, but are not limited to:

Anyone interested in submitting films for the showcase should visit for complete rules and downloadable entry forms. Past entries may also be viewed online.

Entries must be postmarked by Friday, April 6, and winners will be announced in May. Additional information may be obtained by contacting Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or
Winning entries will be aired on AETN and posted to

AETN will also host a youth filmmaking workshop and screening of student films at the Little Rock Film Festival in May 29- June 3, 2012. The multi-day event will include sessions with professional filmmakers in hands-on workshops and be geared toward new filmmakers and those ready to begin distributing their work.

The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea's legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.

The Little Rock Film Festival takes place annually each spring in the historic River Market District. The festival showcases the best in narrative and documentary films from around the world and promotes Arkansas filmmakers through a dedicated program of film screenings, panels, workshops and youth programs.

The Arkansas PBS (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).