Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN calls for 2010 student film showcase entries Student entries eligible for $2,500 scholarships, AETN broadcast of films, screenings at Little Rock Film Festival

AETN calls for 2010 student film showcase entries Student entries eligible for $2,500 scholarships, AETN broadcast of films, screenings at Little Rock Film Festival

Posted 17 Feb 2010

“Our main stipulation is that in all submissions students played key roles in the development and production of each project,” Casey Sanders, AETN producer and Little Rock Film Festival youth and education coordinator, said. “This event can motivate and help shape a new generation of Arkansas filmmakers.”

New to the competition this year are four $2,500 scholarships, funded by the THEA Foundation, which will be awarded to graduating seniors in the following categories: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. Scholarships will be awarded to the student’s institution of choice, regardless of planned major.

“For scholarship consideration, high school seniors must guarantee that they were the sole producer of the selected category,” Sanders said. “Grade point average and test scores won’t limit students in this scholarship competition, nor do students need to be entering a media-related major.”

Entry categories include, but are not limited to:


Narrative (short, full-length, fiction, sitcom, etc.)

Animation (hand-drawn, Claymation, Macromedia Flash, etc.)

Short form videos

QuickTime shorts and music videos

Anyone interested in submitting films for the showcase should visit for complete rules and downloadable entry forms.

Entries must be postmarked by Friday, April 9, and will be judged in April 2010. Winners will be announced in May 2010. Past entries are also available for viewing at the site. Additional information may be obtained by contacting Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or

Winning entries will be aired on AETN and posted to

AETN will also host a youth filmmaking workshop and screening of student films at the Little Rock Film Festival in June. The two-day event will include sessions with professional filmmakers and be geared toward new filmmakers and those ready to begin distributing their work.

“What I like best about this project is its inclusiveness,” AETN Director of Production Carole Adornetto said. “Any student K-12 has a chance to workshop with some of the industry’s best talent and submits their own films for broadcast consideration.”

The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and Board of Directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea’s legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership, and other programs.

The Little Rock Film Festival takes place annually each spring in the historic River Market District. The festival showcases the best in narrative and documentary films from around the world and promotes Arkansas filmmakers through a dedicated program of film screenings, panels, workshops and youth programs.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network ( provides lifelong learning opportunities, improves and enhances Arkansans’ lives and celebrates the unique culture of Arkansas through its programming and services. AETN’s digital transmitters and numerous cable system connections give it statewide reach.