Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN announces Arkansas teachers chosen for 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators Program

AETN announces Arkansas teachers chosen for 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators Program

Posted 14 Apr 2016

The Arkansas Educational Television Network has announced teachers throughout the state who have been chosen as 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators. The program, now in its fourth year, recognizes tech-savvy K-12 educators who are serving as leaders in the education technology space and incorporating digital media in classrooms.

Mary Beth Hatch, EAST facilitator at Harrison Junior High School, was chosen as one of 52 Lead Digital Innovators in the U.S. and its territories. As one of the Lead Digital Innovators, Hatch will receive an all-expense paid trip to Denver, Colorado, to participate in the 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Summit and the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) conference.

'AETN is proud to recognize Ms. Hatch, who was chosen as a Lead Digital Innovator from a pool of talented and innovative educators from across the country who are using technology and digital media in the classroom,' AETN Executive Director Allen Weatherly said. 'Ms. Hatch will represent AETN and the entire state as she continues to enhance her skills with these one-of-a-kind resources, tools and trainings from PBS LearningMedia.'

Six other Arkansas teachers were also recognized as local 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators:

All Digital Innovators will receive year-long professional development opportunities thatinclude virtual trainings, access to premium and exclusive resources from PBS LearningMedia Custom service, a free PBS TeacherLine professional development course, networking opportunities and more. PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators will also receive ongoing support in their communities from AETN.

PBS LearningMedia received hundreds of applications from leading teachers throughout the U.S. and its territories. Judges selected the 52 educators from throughout the U.S, its territories and the District of Columbia, as Lead Innovators, representing almost every state and Washington, D.C., a first in the program's history. These educators exemplify excellence in using technology and digital media to support student learning.

As America's largest classroom, PBS offers digital content and services for teachers of children from pre-K through 12th grade that help bring classroom lessons to life. PBS LearningMedia, a partnership of PBS and WGBH Educational Foundation, is a free and paid media-on-demand service offering educators access to the best of public media and delivers research-based, classroom-ready digital learning experiences to engage students in exploring curriculum concepts that align with national standards. Nationwide, more than 1.8 million teachers and users have registered access to more than 120,000 digital resources available through PBS LearningMedia. More information about PBS LearningMedia is available at

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. More information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).