Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN announces 2018 debates

AETN announces 2018 debates

Posted 08 Aug 2018

Candidates in eight races have agreed to participate in "Election 2018: AETN Debates," which will tape and air on the Arkansas Educational Television Network Oct. 8-12.

All debates will be held at the Donald W. Reynolds Performance Hall, 223 Beatrice Powell St., on the University of Central Arkansas campus in Conway. Admission is free, and the public is invited. Seating is available on a first come, first served basis. Doors will open one hour prior to taping times. Debates will also stream live on

The following candidates have verbally committed to participating in AETN's debates:

In addition to keeping viewers informed about the candidates, AETN will also produce "Election 2018: Ballot Initiatives." The proposed initiatives that have reached the ballot will be discussed in this 30-minute program produced in conjunction with the University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service.

A final debate schedule is still being determined. Debates and ballot initiatives will repeat in two parts Sundays, Oct. 21 and 28, beginning at 12:30 p.m. each day. Additional information, including debate attendance rules, is available at

Major funding for "Election 2018: AETN Debates" is provided by AARP Arkansas.

AETN makes all debates available free of charge to all commercial and public television and radio stations for simulcast or rebroadcast. Interested networks should contact Tanisha Joe-Conway at 800-662-2386 to specify a format and make arrangements for receiving the debates.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. Audiences can also watch on several digital platforms, and members with AETN Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).