Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN announces 2008 Employee Awards

AETN announces 2008 Employee Awards

Posted 17 Dec 2008

The Arkansas Educational Television Network has announced recipients of the 2008 Employee Awards.

Darbi Blencowe, viewer services coordinator, was named Employee of the Year as chosen by the AETN staff for her dedicated service to both AETN and the network’s statewide viewership.

Mike McCullars, director of special projects for the AETN Foundation, was presented with the Executive Director's Award for his work on the digital transition, federal regulations and grants, as well as statewide cable relations.

The Finance and Administration Department and the Engineering Department were recognized with the Managers Award for their actions related to the January 2008 tower collapse that took KETS/2 analog off-the-air. Their leadership led to a restoration of all services and an alternative plan to make the full digital switch by the February 2009 deadline.

Staff members also chose "Troubled Water" as the General Audience Production of the Year and "The Arkansas Governor’s Quiz Bowl 2008" as the Education Production of the Year.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network ( provides lifelong learning opportunities, improves and enhances Arkansans’ lives and celebrates the unique culture of Arkansas through its programming and services. AETN’s digital and analog transmitters and numerous cable system connections give it statewide reach.