Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN accepting student film showcase entries through March 27

AETN accepting student film showcase entries through March 27

Posted 03 Mar 2015

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is accepting entries for 'Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase,' which highlights the creativity and talent of the state's kindergarten through 12th grade students. Selected entries will be broadcast on AETN and posted to Entries must be submitted electronically or postmarked by Friday, March 27, and winners will be announced in May.

Now in its ninth year, 'Student Selects' is an annual event that grants these future filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on and screening at the Little Rock Film Festival (LRFF) and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival (HSDFF). Throughout the year, 'Student Selects' maintains an open call policy, and AETN will accept and review entries as they are received.

Entry categories include, but are not limited to:

High school seniors who submit films to AETN's 'Student Selects' may also compete for $10,000 in college scholarships from the THEA Foundation. THEA awards four $2,500 Young Filmmaker Scholarships to graduating seniors who enter and qualify. Categories include: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. This THEA scholarship competition is unique in that it is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED. Scholarships will be awarded to the student's institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

Additionally, in partnership with the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program and the Arkansas Humanities Council, ninth through 12th grade students may compete for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, which honors student documentaries about any historic site in the state that is at least 50 or more years old. Winners in each of five geographical categories will receive $100, and one overall prize winner will receive $200.

Anyone interested in submitting films should visit for complete rules, to submit entries electronically and to download entry forms for mailed entries. Past entries may also be viewed online. Additional information may be obtained by contacting Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or

AETN will host youth filmmaking workshops and screenings of student films at the LRFF and HSDFF in 2015.

AETN 'Student Selects' partners include THEA Foundation, the Arkansas Humanities Council, Arkansas Film Commission LRFF, HSDFF and Arkansas Motion Picture Institute.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources.

The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea's legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).