Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN accepting student film showcase entries through March 16

AETN accepting student film showcase entries through March 16

Posted 12 Feb 2018

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is accepting entries through March 16 for "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase," which highlights the creativity and talent of the state's kindergarten through 12th grade students. In addition to possible broadcast on AETN, students may choose to compete for Thea Foundation Young Filmmakers Scholarships and the Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize.

Now in its 12th year, "Student Selects" gives Arkansas student filmmakers the opportunity for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on, scholarship and prize competitions, and screenings, including the Student Filmmakers Showcase and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival (HSDFF).

Entries must be submitted electronically to or postmarked by Friday, March 16. Entry categories include, but are not limited to, documentary, narrative, animation, Claymation, stop-motion, music videos and PSAs.

High school seniors who submit films to AETN's "Student Selects" may also compete for $10,000 in college scholarships from the Thea Foundation. Thea awards four $2,500 Young Filmmaker Scholarships to graduating seniors who enter and qualify. Categories include: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. This Thea scholarship competition is unique in that it is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED. Scholarships will be awarded to the student's institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

In partnership with the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program and the Arkansas Humanities Council, fifth through 12th grade students, including homeschooled students, may compete for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, which only accepts documentaries about any historic site in the state that is at least 50 or more years old. The following prizes will be awarded: grand prize, $700; first place, $200; second place, $200; third place, $200; and fourth place, $200.

Each winning film and honorable mention will receive a $150 grant to help with travel costs to Little Rock for the film showcase event. Only one travel grant will be given per film to be shared among the teacher and student filmmakers.

The Student Filmmakers Showcase, highlighting scholarship and prize winning films among will be held at Ron Robinson Theater in Little Rock Tuesday, May 15, at 6 p.m. Anyone interested in submitting films should visit for complete rules for all competitions, to submit entries electronically and to download entry forms for mailed entries. Past entries may also be viewed online. Additional information may be obtained by contacting Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or

"Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase" will air on AETN in September and October. AETN will host youth filmmaking workshops and screenings of student films at the HSDFF in October.

AETN "Student Selects" partners include: Thea Foundation; the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Arkansas Department of Heritage; the Arkansas Humanities Council; and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources.

The Thea Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea's legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. Audiences can also watch on several digital platforms, and members with AETN Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).