Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN accepting entries for PBS KIDS Writers Contest

AETN accepting entries for PBS KIDS Writers Contest

Posted 13 Feb 2014

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is now accepting entries for the PBS KIDS Writers Contest through Friday, April 4.

The PBS KIDS Writers Contest is a national initiative designed to promote the advancement of children's literacy skills through hands-on, active learning. The contest partners with PBS stations nationwide and empowers children in grades K-3 to celebrate creativity and build literacy by writing and illustrating their own stories.

AETN hosts the contest for Arkansas students, and submits first place winning stories to the national contest. Each Arkansas entrant will receive a participation certificate, and 12 winners - three from each grade - will receive an AETN prize pack. In addition, first place winners will be given the opportunity for Clifford the Big Red Dog to visit their school and to tour the AETN studios in Conway. More than 100 students from across Arkansas entered the contest last year. Winning stories, as well as contest rules, creative writing resources and entry forms, are available at Additional information is available by emailing

Stories may be fact, fiction, prose or poetry. Only one entry will be allowed per person, and stories must be by a single author. Kindergarten and first grade stories must have a minimum of 50 words and a maximum of 200 words. Second and third grade stories must have a minimum of 100 words and a maximum of 350 words.

Text must be printed, written legibly or typed. Children who cannot write may dictate their story to be printed, written legibly or typed. Stories must have at least five original, clear and colorful illustrations. Non-English text must be translated on the same page, and the translated text (English text) must adhere to the word count.

Entries will be judged on originality, creative expression, storytelling and integration of text and illustrations. AETN will judge local submissions and send the first place winners from each grade to the national contest. A panel of judges will select 12 national winners for prizes courtesy of LeapFrog.

Stories should be submitted by Friday, April 4, by mail to: AETN - Writers Contest, 350 S. Donaghey, Conway, AR 72034. Arkansas winners will be chosen in April, and the first place winners will be sent to PBS KIDS for entry in the national contest. National winners will be announced during the summer, and the winning stories will be featured on Arkansas's 12 winning stories will be featured on

The PBS KIDS Writers Contest is produced by PBS and based on the Reading Rainbow Young Writers and Illustrators Contest, a concept developed by WNED-TV, Buffalo. National sponsors include LeapFrog and Highlights for Children. More information on participating local stations, general entry rules and contest resources can be found on

PBS KIDS, the number one educational media brand for kids, offers all children the opportunity to explore new ideas and new worlds through television, online, mobile and community-based programs. Kidscreen- and Webby-award winning provides engaging interactive content, including the PBS KIDS video player, now offering free streaming video accessible on computer- and mobile-device-based browsers.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).