Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN, THEA Foundation announce 2013 student film scholarship winners

AETN, THEA Foundation announce 2013 student film scholarship winners

Posted 12 Jun 2013

The Arkansas Educational Television Network and the THEA Foundation have announced winners in the Young Filmmakers Scholarship competition for high school seniors.

The scholarship competition is part of "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase," an annual event that grants future filmmakers from kindergarten through 12th grade the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on and screening at the Little Rock Film Festival. Winning entries will be posted to, and "Student Selects 2013" will premiere on AETN this fall.

For the fourth year, the THEA Foundation in partnership with AETN has awarded graduating seniors four $2,500 scholarships in the categories of screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing.

Winners of the 2013 Young Filmmakers Scholarship competition are:

"Our young filmmakers are so very creative and resourceful – they never fail to amaze me," Casey Sanders, AETN producer and Little Rock Film Festival youth and education coordinator, said. "It's great to provide a platform that helps launch these students in their academic pursuits.

"There are a lot of scholarships out there, but this one really rewards the creative thinker."

To compete for scholarships, seniors were required to guarantee that they were the sole producer of the selected category. Scholarships will be awarded to the student to attend an institution of their choice, regardless of planned major, grade point average or test scores.

Scholarship winning films will be featured July 27 at the ninth annual T Tauri Film Festival, the youth division of Ozark Foothills FilmFest. The festival showcases short films made by the growing number of Arkansas filmmakers age 18 and under.

The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea’s legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.