Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN, THEA Foundation announce 2010 student film scholarship winners Four students awarded $2,500 scholarships from THEA Foundation

AETN, THEA Foundation announce 2010 student film scholarship winners Four students awarded $2,500 scholarships from THEA Foundation

Posted 26 May 2010

“Student Selects” is an annual event that grants these future filmmakers from kindergarten through 12th grade the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on and screening at the Little Rock Film Festival.

New to the competition this year are four $2,500 scholarships, funded by the THEA Foundation, which have been awarded to graduating seniors in the following categories: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing.

Winners of the 2010 “Student Selects” scholarship competition are:

Screenwriting – Tanner Smith, Manila High School, “Specter.”

Directing – Landry Parks Harlan, Fayetteville High School, “Outside the Lines.”

Cinematography – Sean Cannon, Searcy High School, “Small Town.”

Editing – William Michael Sharp, Fayetteville High School, “Outside the Lines.”

“We would like to extend our warmest congratulations to the hardworking students whose efforts pushed them to the top in each category, and to each and every student who submitted their work for consideration,” Casey Sanders, AETN producer and Little Rock Film Festival youth and education coordinator, said. “We can sincerely say that all of the students entered show great creativity, talent, and promise, giving us yet another glimpse of rising talents in Arkansas filmmaking!”

To compete for scholarships, seniors had to guarantee that they were the sole producer of the selected category. Scholarships will be awarded to the student’s institution of choice, regardless of planned major, grade point average or test scores.

Winning entries will be posted to

The THEA Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and Board of Directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea’s legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership, and other programs.

The Little Rock Film Festival takes place annually each spring in the historic River Market District. The festival showcases the best in narrative and documentary films from around the world and promotes Arkansas filmmakers through a dedicated program of film screenings, panels, workshops and youth programs.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit, or follow the AETN blog at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).