Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > AETN, PBS productions to be screened at Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival

AETN, PBS productions to be screened at Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival

Posted 06 Oct 2017

Arkansas Educational Television Network original production "Dream Land: Little Rock's West 9th Street," as well as upcoming PBS feature "Tell Them We Are Rising," have been chosen for screening as part of the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival (HSDFF).

"Dream Land: Little Rock's West 9th Street," a documentary that explores the street's glory days and how Urban Renewal, the Eisenhower Interstate Program and more influenced its future, will screen Monday, Oct. 9, at 7:30 p.m. Gabe Mayhan, director; Tanisha Joe-Conway, producer; L.T. Terry, Little Rock resident; and Berna Love, author of "Temple of Dreams" and "End of the Line" will be in attendance.

"Tell Them We Are Rising," a documentary that charts the impact that historically black colleges and universities have had on American history, culture and national identity, will screen Saturday, Oct. 14, at 2:30 p.m. Stanley Nelson, director and producer, will be in attendance. Choir members from Arkansas Baptist College will perform at the screening. Nelson will also receive the Career Achievement Award in Documentary Film from the festival.

"Tell Them We Are Rising" will premiere on AETN in spring 2018, complemented by a short, AETN-original production highlighting Arkansas's four historically black colleges – University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, Philander Smith College, Arkansas Baptist College and Shorter College. Nelson will also be a guest on AETN's in-depth, current affairs program "Barnes and … A Conversation With," airdate to be announced.

Tickets for "Dream Land: Little Rock's West 9th Street" and "Tell Them We Are Rising" are $10 per film and may be purchased at

Additionally, AETN Student Selects has partnered with HSDFF to host the free Emerging Filmmakers Program Monday, Oct. 9, beginning at 9 a.m.

Student filmmakers in middle school, junior high school and high school will participate in hands-on, intensive sessions to learn how to create purposeful media, utilizing the power of investigation and expression in digital storytelling.

The Emerging Filmmakers program is accessible both to beginners and more seasoned filmmakers. As part of the workshop, documentaries produced by local students will be screened.

For more information about Student Selects, email program director Casey Sanders at">

Tickets to the "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase" screening are free and may be requested at">

Among those presenting at the Emerging Filmmakers Program will be: Jack C. Newell, award-winning filmmaker and program director of the Harold Ramis Film School at The Second City in Chicago; Kevin Clark, award-winning filmmaker and AETN producer; and Jennifer Gibson, AETN producer.

The Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival (HSDFF) began in 1992, launched by a small group of arts activists in Hot Springs. The festival attracts tens of thousands of visitors making it one of the largest tourist attractions in Arkansas and providing significant economic benefits, as well as helping to shape the identity of Arkansas nationally and internationally.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. Audiences can also watch on several digital platforms, and members with AETN Passport have extended on-demand access to a rich library of public television programming. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).