Arkansas PBS > Engage > Pressroom > A Young Filmmakers Showcase to be held in Little Rock May 11

A Young Filmmakers Showcase to be held in Little Rock May 11

Posted 09 May 2016

The Arkansas Educational Television Network and the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize will host A Young Filmmakers Showcase Wednesday, May 11, at 5:30 p.m. at the Ron Robinson Theater, 100 River Market Avenue, Little Rock. Thea Foundation scholarship winners and Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize winners will be announced. The event is free and open to the public.

Films screened at the event will be curated digital shorts from AETN's 'Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase,' which highlights the creativity and talent of the state's kindergarten through 12th grade students.

The screening will include the following films:

Now in its 10th year, 'Student Selects' is an annual event that grants these future filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on, and screening at the Young Filmmakers Showcase and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival in October. Throughout the year, 'Student Selects' maintains an open call policy, and AETN will accept and review entries as they are received.

High school seniors who submit films to AETN's 'Student Selects' may also compete for $10,000 in college scholarships from the Thea Foundation. Thea awards four $2,500 Young Filmmaker Scholarships to graduating seniors who enter and qualify. Categories include: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. This Thea scholarship competition is unique in that it is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED. Scholarships will be awarded to the student's institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

In partnership with the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program and the Arkansas Humanities Council, ninth through 12th grade students may compete for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, which honors student documentaries about any historic site in the state that is at least 50 or more years old. First through fourth place winners will receive $100, and one overall prize winner will receive $200. The Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize is supported in part by a grant from the Arkansas Humanities Council.

Additional information is available at

AETN 'Student Selects' partners include Thea Foundation, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Film Commission, HSDFF and Arkansas Motion Picture Institute.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources.

The Thea Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea's legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas's statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. Additional information is available at AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).