Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > Student Selects — 2015 THEA Scholarship Winners Announced

Student Selects — 2015 THEA Scholarship Winners Announced

  • Posted by
  • AETN
  • on

Congratulations to our 2015 Student Selects Thea Foundation Filmmaking Scholarship winners! After long deliberation between many deserving films, four winners were selected in the categories of directing, cinematography, editing and screenwriting.

2015 Student Selects Thea Scholarship Winners

A_Film_on_Hate Directing — Reed Carson of Fayetteville High School for “ A Film on Hate”



Cinematography — Addison Yates of Harding Academy for “My Ball”



Editing — Michael Driskell of Springdale District Television for “Trapped in the Oven”



Screenwriting — Cole Borgstadt of Fayetteville High School for “Go to the Ball With Me, Jenny”

Each winner will receive a $2,500 scholarship awarded to institution of higher education of his or her choice, regardless of the winner’s planned major. Thea scholarships are awarded to high school seniors following the judges panel decision. Each year public, private and home school students, as well as those who have completed GED, are invited to compete. Grade point average and test scores do not factor into consideration for a scholarship and need not be disclosed; however, students must guarantee that they were the sole performer of the selected category while creating their films and must have their role verified by an instructor or advisor. Thea scholarship-winning films will also be broadcasted as part of AETN Student Selects in Fall 2015.

Interested in learning more for the 2016 Student Selects competition? Be sure to visit for full rules and details.


AETN Student Selects Thea Scholarship Competition