Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > “Student Selects 2015”

“Student Selects 2015”

  • Posted by
  • AETN
  • on

Throughout the month of September, AETN is proud to showcase the work of Arkansas’s next generation of filmmakers in “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase 2015”! The series will air on Fridays at 6:30 p.m. in four segments, beginning Sept. 4.

“Student Selects 2015: Episode 1” will include:

  • “A Film On Hate” by Reed C. Carson, Fayetteville High School, winner of the THEA scholarship for directing.
  • “The Rapper” by Justin Anglin, Cabot High School.
  • “Soccer Motivation” by Sintia Magana, Springdale District TV.
  • “My Stepdad Zoltar” by Blase Zinck, Parkview Magnet High School (Little Rock).
  • “Gray Matter” by Amalia Eddings, Bryant High School.
  • “Because of the Racism” by Kennedy Butler, Little Rock Central High School.

“Student Selects 2015: Episode 2” will feature:

  • “Three Wishes” by Christopher Scribner, eStem High Public Charter School (Little Rock).
  • “Somewhere” by Wyly Bigger, Marion High School.
  • “Trapped in the Oven” by Michael Driskell, Springdale District TV, winner of the THEA scholarship for editing.
  • “Cleanin’” by Justin Phaysith, Springdale High School.

“Student Selects 2015: Episode 3” will showcase:

  • “Loser” by Andrew Lisle, Har-Ber High School (Springdale).
  • “Color My World” by Connor Holmes, Lake Hamilton High School (Pearcy)
  • “No Differences in Disabilities” by Michael Driskell, Springdale District TV.
  • “My Ball” by Addison Yates, Harding Academy (Searcy), winner of the THEA scholarship for cinematography.
  • “Two Hands on the Wheel” by Brandon Morris, Metropolitan Career and Technical Center (Little Rock).
  • “Call Me Crazy” by Amanda Hamilton and Michael Merida, Lakeside High School (Hot Springs).

“Student Selects 2015: Episode 4” will highlight:

  • “Pyro” by Cole Borgstadt, Fayetteville High School.
  • “You Can Change the World” by Gracia Robison, Dardanelle High School.
  • “BBALL AND BLADEN” by Adam Sauer, Siloam Springs High School.
  • “The Battle of Prairie Grove” by Austin Chitmon, Bentonville High School.

“Student Selects” is an annual event that highlights the creativity and talent of the state’s kindergarten through 12th grade students. Young filmmakers submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN and streaming on, and graduating seniors may compete for THEA Foundation scholarships in screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. Learn more about how you can enter the 2016 competition at


“Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase 2015,” Fridays at 6:30 p.m., beginning Sept. 4


Student Selects 2016 
THEA Foundation Filmmaker Scholarships

About the author: Insert text here...