Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > ENTER NOW - AETN Student Selects 2015

ENTER NOW - AETN Student Selects 2015

  • Posted by
  • AETN
  • on

We’re counting down to the Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase deadline on Friday, March 27, and can’t wait to see the outstanding work Arkansas’s K-12 students submit!

With categories including documentary, narrative (a short or full-length fiction film, sitcom, etc.), animation (hand-drawn, Claymation, Flash, stop-motion, etc.) and music video, the style of film students submit is limited only by their imagination.

Winning films will be screened at the Student Selects showcase at the Little Rock Film Festival in May and broadcasted on AETN. Documentary films will be featured at the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival in October.

But that’s not the only honor outstanding student filmmakers can enjoy! High school students (in grades 9-12) can also compete for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, made possible by the Arkansas Humanities Council and the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The overall prize of $200 will be awarded to the best student-made documentary about any historically significant place in Arkansas. Additional regional prizes (for films about historic places in the Ozarks, Ouachitas, Arkansas River Valley, Timberlands and Delta categories) of $100 will also be awarded.

Especially exciting for high school seniors, of course, are Thea Foundation Student Selects scholarships for Screenwriting, Directing, Cinematography and Editing. The winner of each category will receive a $2,500 scholarship, which will be awarded to the student’s institution of choice, regardless of his or her planned major.

In addition to the competition, don’t forget to keep an eye on the AETN Engage Blog and AETN social media platforms for announcements about festival workshops. We have some great things in store for Arkansas’s young filmmakers and can’t wait until the details are finalized so that we can share!


Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize

Thea Foundation Student Selects Scholarships