Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > Be Sure to Watch! "Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2011"

Be Sure to Watch! "Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2011"

  • Posted by
  • Larmon
  • on

Students will showcase their intellect in the annual Arkansas Governor’s Academic Competition at the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Saturday, April 30, in “Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2011.” “Quiz Bowl 2011” will be broadcast on Saturday in two sections – 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and 1:30 to 4 p.m. The finals will involve seven conferences for a total of 14 teams.

The first round of matches beginning at 9:30 a.m. will include in order of appearance:

  1. 7A - Cabot vs. Forth Smith Southside
  2. 4A - Subiaco Academy vs. Farmington
  3. 5A - Huntsville vs. Watson Chapel (Pine Bluff)
  4. 3A - Episcopal Collegiate (Little Rock) vs. Arkansas Baptist (Little Rock)

The second round of matches beginning at 1:30 p.m. will include in order of appearance:

  1. 6A - Benton vs. Parkview (Little Rock)
  2. 1A - Norfork vs. Ridgefield Christian (Jonesboro)
  3. 2A - Gurdon vs. Murfreesboro

The public is invited to be a part of the audience at the AETN studios, 350 South Donaghey, Conway, and will be seated on a first come, first served basis. Spectators will be admitted via the Sesame Street entrance and should arrive no later than 9:00 a.m. for the early round and 1 pm for the later round. 

“Quiz Bowl” is a celebration and recognition of scholarship that has been an AETN tradition since 1985. In a series of questions, players must display their knowledge in literature, math, science, history, art, music and economics. Teams from across the state compete for the chance to represent the Natural State in national tournaments.All games are broadcast from AETN, and scholarship money will be awarded.

The Arkansas Governor’s Quiz Bowl Association holds regional tournaments around the state during March. Teams are assigned to a site, and a random drawing places the teams on the pairing schedule. A percentage of teams in the tournament advance to the state tournament. The top two teams from each classification advance to the State Conference Finals.

“Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2011.” will be broadcast on Saturday, April 30, in two sections – 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 1:30 to 4 p.m.