Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > “Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2017” Champions

“Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2017” Champions

  • Posted by
  • AETN
  • on

AETN had a wonderful time hosting the “Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2017: Governor’s Academic Competition” on Saturday, April 22.

It was truly a battle of wits with each match highlighting the quick thinking and scholarship of the Arkansas Governor’s Quiz Bowl Association’s best and brightest teams. Every team playing in the state finals had competed in and won difficult AGQBA regional and conference brackets to claim their places in the “Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2017” competition.

Through a series of questions, players displayed their knowledge of literature, math, science, history music and economics and performed to high standards. With lightning round runs, nail biting finishes and outstanding performances across the boards, it was a thrilling day! We were deeply impressed by the intellect and preparation of all the teams that participated and we look forward to seeing all these exceptional scholars accomplish in years to come!

Final rankings for “Arkansas Quiz Bowl 2017” were as follows:

1A Conference:

Norfork High School — 2017 Champions

Norfork 1A Quiz Bowl Champs 2017

Team members include:  Jordan Weber, Elias Maple, Kristin Kite, Coach Pam Braun, Bentley Branscum, Jacob Moore and Coach Stacy Havner

Haas Hall Academy Bentonville — Runners Up

Haas Hall Bentonville 1A Quiz Bowl Runner-up 2017

Team members include: Khushi Taori, D.J. Quezada, Maryclaire Franklin, Vincz Ong, Adam Rockwood, Shiloh Beeler, Coach Larry Henry, Pranav Vasan, Duncan Wilkie, Paul Jung, Claire Fraser, Michael Tynes and Sam Ellgass

2A Conference:

Conway Christian — 2017 Champions

Conway Christian 2A Quiz Bowl Champs 2017

Team members include: Alec Ohlde, Jackson Quick, Jacob Bowman, Lane McSpadden, Abby Austin, William Ivy, Thomas Williams, Coach Sarah Nordin and Coach Claire Summers

Cotter High School — Runners Up

Cotter 2A Quiz Bowl Runner-up 2017

Team members include: Kaycie Beard, Samantha Hodges, Willow Poynter, Dalton Orsborn, Gabe Gilley, Trenton Tardiff and Coach Monica Springfield

3A Conference:

Haas Hall Academy Fayetteville — 2017 Champions

 Haas Hall Fayetteville 3A Quiz Bowl Champs 2017

Team members include: Javian Walter, Aubin Payne, Connor Fritsch, Caleb Bodishbaugh, Hamaad Mehal, Sai Sirigineedi, Coach Tad Sours, Pearce Hungate, Ethan Horton, Jade DeSpain, Gabe Edwards, Nicholas Collyge, Samuel Lipson and Assistant Coach Corinne DeSpain

Centerpoint High School — Runners Up

Centerpoint 3A Quiz Bowl Runner-up 2017

Team members include: Justin Woodall, Jared Alesi, Samantha Burnett, Mason Thomas, Zane Pedron, Keaton Goocher, Linnie Hampton, Hannah Diggs, Mark Francis, Amanda Burnett, Coach Joanna Sutton and Melinda Frizzell

4A Conference:

Huntsville High School — 2017 Champions

Huntsville 4A Quiz Bowl Champs 2017

Team members include: Devin Middleton, Brian Roden, Nathaniel Bryan, Wesley Ellis, Piam Chittisane, Coach Tyler Tvrz, Mark Meythaler, Abby Bryan, Rebekah Young, Katherine Hahn, Maddie Tvrz, Megan Alexander, Clara Scott, Jessica Reed, Cade Vines and Coach Chandra Denison

Highland High School — Runners Up

Highland 4A Quiz Bowl Runner-up 2017

Team members include: Harrison Bruner, Connor Johnson, Tristian Wiles, Nathan Van Aalsburg, Andrew Miller, Derrick Mullins, Linda Smith, Megan LaPlaunt, Alex Jones, David Sparacio, Westley McCool, Cole Eheart, Sheldon Wight, Trevor Patrick, Anna Sanders and Coach Teresa Flynn

5A Conference:

Harrison High School — 2017 Champions

Harrison 5A Quiz Bowl Champs 2017

Team members include: Conner Chu, Bernice Rubio, Beryl Anderson, Kaitlyn Bailey, Matthew Law, Kinder Hinrichs, Coach Rance King, Trey Nelson, Jonathan Hicks, Blake Whitmer, Colton Simpson, Hanna Mathison, Spencer Hinrichs and Assistant Coach Tyler Nelson

Nettleton High School — Runners Up

Nettleton 5A Quiz Bowl Runner-up 2017

Team members include: Erin George, Amaya Westman-Forbes, Aly Nichols, Macey Ross, Emily Ewert, Coach Shawn Watson, Coach Sheridan Watts, Alex Young, Brandon Tran, Logan Kumar, Solomon Ni, Ashley Ewert, Coach Bethany Petty and Coach Hannah Beth Wright

6A Conference:

Russellville High School — 2017 Champions

Team members include: Jason Zhang, Jasmine Gonzalez, Cameron Steed, Mariah Ferguson, Nathan Judd, Philip Takach, Regan Freeman, Olivia Draughon, Tyler Tracy, Jeremy Collins, Brant Collins, Christopher Schaubroeck, Coach Paul Gray, Coach Johnny Barham, Coach Yoshio Yamashita, Jacob Poirier, Collin Davis, Nihal Anwar, Hailey Smith and Coach Brandon Cooper


Benton High School — Runners Up


Team members include: Sarah Spakes, Rylie Davis, Sydnee Ehorn, Henry Bethel, Coach Brian West, Quinten Wells, Austin Dorman and Matt Howard


7A Conference:

Conway High School — 2017 Champions

Conway 7A Quiz Bowl Champs 2017

Team members include: Hunter Davis, Megan Haase, Zelda Engeler-Young, Jack Lester, Harrisson Hite, Coach Jacob Paxton, Coach Tina Paxton, Jillian Tang, Matt Depner, Tanner Ruth, Jared Nevill, Kate Parrack, Archer Murray and Hunter Fleming

Cabot High School — Runners Up

Cabot 7A Quiz Bowl Runner-up 2017

Team members include: Trinity Chapa, Christen Johnson, Sharjeel Hyder, Jared Gilliam, Ian Frisby, Coach Pam Holt, Aleigha Smith, Vinny Gemmiti, Lucas Southard and Coach Wes Davis

AETN is proud to continue the annual broadcast of this scholastic tradition and to see such talented students representing districts from across the state every year. Congratulations to all of our 2017 players! It was an outstanding competition made possible by the dedicated work of wonderful volunteers, partners and viewers.


AETN on Flickr


Arkansas Governor’s Quiz Bowl Association

“Arkansas Quiz Bowl” on AETN