Arkansas PBS > Engage > Blog > Arkansas PBS Commission Welcomes New Members

Arkansas PBS Commission Welcomes New Members

  • Posted by
  • Arkansas PBS
  • on

Gov. Asa Hutchinson has announced appointments to the Arkansas PBS Commission.

Members joining the Arkansas PBS Commission include:

  • Anne Canada of Subiaco, teacher librarian at Paris Middle School. She previously served as a literacy teacher and an elementary classroom teacher, all with the Paris School District. Canada is an Arkansas Declaration of Learning Best of the Best Teacher. Her term on the commission expires March 23, 2027.
  • Ann Clemmer of Benton, senior associate director at the Arkansas Department of Education, Division of Higher Education. She previously served in the Arkansas House of Representatives and taught American government and politics in the political science department at UALR for over 20 years. Her term on the commission expires March 23, 2022.

Additionally, Annette Herrington of Little Rock was reappointed to the commission for a second eight-year term. Her term on the commission expires March 23, 2028.

“It is a great pleasure to welcome our new members of the Arkansas PBS Commission,” Arkansas PBS Executive Director and CEO Courtney Pledger said. “We look forward to the expertise and direction they will provide.
“We are delighted to have Annette Herrington serving a second term. Her contributions to the network’s success have been many.”

Of the eight Arkansas PBS Commissioners, one is required from each of the state's four congressional districts, with one involved in the Arkansas public school system, and one from higher education. The role of a commissioner is that of citizen representative responsible for the oversight of the statewide public media network.

The commission also includes: Skip Holland of Fayetteville, chair; John Brown of Siloam Springs, vice chair; West Doss of Fayetteville, treasurer; Woody Freeman of Jonesboro; and Dr. Kathryn Jones of Bentonville.